We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage in a beautiful, peaceful location”

Review of Walnut Cottage

South West face
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South West face
Children's play house Kitchen and Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
South West face
Children's play house
Kitchen and Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Garden
Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Downstairs Bathroom
Garden patio
Entrance
Entrance and Hall
Laundry
Southwest face
First floor plan
Ground floor plan
Barton St. David church
Glastonbury Abbey
View looking towards Glastonbury Tor (roughly 6km North North West)
Walnut Cottage garden
Deer running through field next to Walnut Cottage
Glastonbury Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Skonj
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a beautiful, peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed in Walnut Cottage for 4 days over Easter with our family. The cottage is large and very well equipped and the garden is huge and perfect for families. We loved watching the birds, chickens and rabbits in the garden. The owners who live nearby are very welcoming and friendly. Would highly recommend Walnut Cottage. Wells, Glastonbury and Street are all nice places to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryWood...
woodbridge
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here for two weeks in January. The cottage is immaculate and very comfortable. Rooms are bright and warm, kitchen excellent, large with everything you could need. Plenty of space, good showers. Lovely garden though weather was not good when we were there but it was a pleasant view. Very quiet and peaceful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TES255100
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great family cottage”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic cottage with everything you could need for a positively relaxing and enjoyable stay. The property is on a really quiet lane so it's very peaceful. We went with two young kids and they loved the garden which is equipped with a clubby house and chickens roaming around. Good access to neighbouring sights. Theresa and Adrian are great hosts and we will be back - thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djleemart...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could wish for and more!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

When I found this cottage for a 6th August stay, for the price we paid, I thought "There must be a catch!" But there wasn't. Theresa and Adrian were fantastic and the house was simply beautiful! An extremely clean and spacious house, with an enormous and fully enclosed garden, trampoline, play house and swing, meant we were left to just relax and let the kids roam around free! There are plenty of pubs nearby and the town is just a 15 minute drive, so location was also excellent. I cannot say enough about Walnut Cottage but we were all sad to leave this morning and would 100% return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie F
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect country cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, what a lovely place, didn't want to leave. Everything, and more, is provided at this cottage. Fabulous kitchen - probably better stocked than my own home regarding utensils etc. With a family of 5 it was so easy with everything we needed and, plenty of space. Lovely cosy living area, even a selection of books and dvds (for kids and grown-ups), and toys for younger children provided. 3 lovely size bedrooms with beds so comfy we didn't want to get up! Soft towels in the bathroom and shower room. The owners seem to have thought of everything - even bath toys and child's toilet seat. You really don't need to bring much. The real jewel for us was the garden. Huge, with seating area, bbq, trampoline and playhouse, we spent lots of our holiday in the garden-even in the rain! We didn't manage to find the local shop, but supermarkets are about 15 minute drive away in either Glastonbury or Street. The property is in a good location for exploring Somerset and the South West. ComparatIvely, this house is really good value for money. My family loved staying in this cottage and hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jghomer
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A First Class Family Experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 7 nights. Myself, my wife and 2 children aged 5 and 10. It was simply perfect. Neither of us could think of anything about It that could be improved. The house was much bigger than the pictures indicated, and the garden is enormous, the kids played in it every day. The house was superbly well kept and clean, and warm. It was relatively nippy outside but we had no need of the log burner as the under floor heating kept it very cosy. The kitchen was the best equipped in all of the lodges and cottages we have stayed in, with utensils and equipment for any cooking mission you decide to embark on. There's a great collection of DVD's, games and Toys for both kids and adults. The owners were very friendly, although we had no need to bother them as everything ran perfectly smooth. Locationwise it is situated down a quiet country lane with no other properties around it except the owners. Secluded and private but close enough to civilisation also. It felt a good central point to visit Cheddar Gorge and Wookie Hole, and the seaside, and we filled 7 days with activities without any extended travel taking place. I can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of house
Liked least: slow internet
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon F
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Property In An Excellent Location”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I thought Somerset was one of those places which got in the way when driving to Devon or Cornwall but after spending 2 weeks at Walnut Cottage there is still plenty of places left to visit.The cottage is situated in a delightful rural environment with no through traffic and the peace is superb as it should be in the countryside. However the cottage is ideally situated to access all of Somerset without any hassle.
The cottage is clean, bright , spacious and well equipped and lived up to (high) expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shared garden
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;