We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic.......”
Review of Haydn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haydn House
Ranked #4 of 52 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Where to begin......My first experience of Glastonbury was in September this year, I was travelling with a friend (Paul) who had stayed at Haydn House on numerous occasions before and spoke very highly of it. I was not disappointed......We were greeted at the door by Mother D (Charlie's Mother) who was extremely welcoming, shortly after Charlie arrived home and his personality and passion instantly lit up the room. Charlie has a vast amount of knowledge about the local area and was able to offer advice about places to eat and visit which was much appreciated. We were shown to our room, which was the Abbey Suite which was at an exceptional standard. The view was breathtaking of the Abbey ruins.....I would highly recommend this room for space and views alone (The bathroom even had room for a sofa). Charlie was only present on our first morning as he was heading off on his own adventure in Italy. After this we were left in the more than capable hands of Mother D. Breakfast every morning was excellent freshly cooked and very tasty (this set us up for the day).

My experience of Glastonbury was one that I shall not forget and I have started to understand why my friend Paul loves it there so much. The passion both Charlie and Mother D have, enhanced the experience more so and without Charlie's knowledge we would not have experienced the delight of La cock on the way home.

Without a doubt I would not hesitate at stopping with Charlie and Mother D at Haydn House again. Hope to see you soon, Rachel x

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    36
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
106
112
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A real home from home experience, with a polite and cheerful owner / hotelier. Comfortable, Warm and you never leave hungry. Perfect location for town centre. Overlooks the famous Glatonbury Abbey with no need to worry about the usual local Taxi firms telephone numbers or public transport dilema's .......Thank you Clive

Room Tip: Abbey view is first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Having stayed in hotels before, this was our first time staying in a b & b and I can honestly say what a pleasure it was. Mine host, Charlie, was pleasant and jovial from the first moment I spoke to him makin us feel welcome before we even got there. On arrival we was shown our room which was pleasant, comfortable and warm with plenty of tea and coffee making facilites. The breakfast was everything you'd expect fom a first class hotel. I give this 10 out f 10and will definatly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelandjohn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Haydn House is everything you want from a Bed and Breakfast, it is warm and welcoming, comfortable and clean. We stayed in the Abbey View Suite which took up the whole of the top floor so we had plenty of room to relax, there is ample room for a small family without them tripping over each other. The view of the ruins from the main window is beautiful. We had some lovely times in the candlelit dining room chatting with other guests from all over the world while eating excellent breakfasts that truly set you up for the day. The house is situated just 2 minutes walk from the High Street, but is still in a street quiet enough to escape all the hustle and bustle. Charlie is an excellent host, second to none, who leaves you alone to do your own thing, but is always available if you need anything and he has a wealth of local knowledge and can tell you lots of interesting snippets of information about the local attractions and the town itself. As well as providing a service to pick you up from the train/bus station he provides a number of tours to see places including Stonehenge, Tintagel, and the stunning St Nectans Glen. We will definitely return to Glastonbury and it would be unthinkable to stay anywhere else than at Haydn House.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Charlie at Haydn House is a consummate host. Rooms were clean; beds and linens fresh. Breakfasts top notch, elegantly served in a candlelit diningroom. Great taxi connection from Wells and again to Castle Cary to catch our train to Salisbury. Great location to High Street and The Tor, Chalice Well Gardens. Highly recommend Haydn House!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed at Haydn House in the Abbey Suite to celebrate my 40th birthday. The house has a lovely welcoming feeling with excellent views of the Abbey ruins. It is ideally located for all the local attractions and is ideally situated for Wells and the Clarks shopping village in Street. Charlie is an excellent cook and his breakfasts were superb! He knew where to go and was able to point us in the right direction every time :) x - I look forward to returning next year with our little boy!

Room Tip: It has to be the Abbey Suite every time - this is very spacious and the photos on the web site do sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our second visit to Haydn House and just as lovely as the first. Charlie made us feel right at home and the vegetarian breakfast is amazing!! Situated in a great place to explore the town, Tor and the rest of the area. Couldn't recommend highly enough!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 52 in Glastonbury
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 52 in Glastonbury
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sacred Garden Retreat
Sacred Garden Retreat
#11 of 22 in Glastonbury
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haydn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haydn House

Property: Haydn House
Address: 13A Silver Street, Glastonbury BA6 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haydn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haydn House Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing