We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable stay”
Review of Haydn House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haydn House
Ranked #5 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unbelievable stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Very nice B&B, very nice rooms (Olive, Lavender). The suite upstairs looked very beautiful. Very good veg breakfast and fantastic host Charlie, friendly, helpful. Quiet location in the centre. Nice view of the Abbey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebukatnesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    37
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
108
112
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The best part of my trip to England was staying at Hadyn House. The house itself was wonderful. It was in a great location, just a block from High Street and a short walk to the Chalice Well Gardens and the Tor. I had an beautiful view of the Glastonbury Abbey ruins from the Abbey View room. Every morning, he made the most delicious breakfasts (and I'm not a fan of eating breakfast). When he took us to the various places (i.e. Avebury, Tintagel), you could see the passion he had for showing us the history of the various places. He found a way to make each place special, like finding dowsing rods for us to borrow and getting us into the museums free of charge at Avebury. I was very sad to have to go into London at the end of our stay. If I ever return to Glastonbury (fingers crossed), I will definitely stay at Haydn House and will tell all I know travelling to Glastonbury the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed recently during our honeymoon from Australia, and had an amazing stay. Charlie our host was so caring and such a great guy. He made our stay such a special experience, and is an amazing chef for breakfast (even for vegetarians like us!)

The B and B is very comfortable and clean and homely, within easy walk to all the best parts of Glastonbury. We were very grateful to stay, and promise to return for our silver anniversary (if not sooner!).

Would recommend to everybody travelling to Glastonbury for a home away from home. Thank you for making our visit so special

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Haydn House is hands-down the best accommodation experience I've ever had. Charlie is the perfect host and will not only feed you a fantastic breakfast but will lead you on fantastic (and informative) tours of the area, including Avebury, Stonehenge, and Tintangel. He is flexible and accommodating, and when Tintagel castle was closed he found great alternatives for us. The house is very clean and comfortable, the food is delicious (plenty of options for vegetarians), and the views from the front bedrooms look right out to Glastonbury Abbey. The house is situated a block from the high street, and you are minutes from the town centre, Tor, Chalice Well, and the Abbey. Haydn House is your home away from home in Glastonbury! I shall certainly go back and stay again!

Room Tip: The Olive, Lavender, and Abbey View rooms have magnificent views of Glastonbury Abbey. Silver Birch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdrege, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I loved staying at Haydn House. I came with a group of students for a study abroad trip, and all of us agreed that if it had not been for this Bed and Breakfast and its host Charlie our trip would not have been what it was. Great food, clean and comfortable rooms, and a kind and gracious host "made" the trip all the better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castine, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I can give a place no higher praise than 'it feels like home', and this is Haydn House. It's my favorite place to stay in England, hands down (and I've stayed in many places in the UK). When I walk in the door, I'm completely comfortable and feel so welcome. Beautiful views of the Abbey from most rooms, perfectly located for all Glastonbury sites, and the most wonderful host you could ask for. Charlie sees to everyone's needs, knows when to give people space, suggests fantastic additions to tours, and gets along well with everyone. He's not just a host, he's a good friend who truly cares that his guests are happy and well-cared for. Thanks again for a fantastic stay! Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room, but the Abbey View Room is my favorite. Abbey View and Silver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenlyons48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We were in desperate need to recharge our batteries and couldn't think of anywhere better to do that than Haydn House in Glastonbury. As soon as we walked through the door I felt the built up tension of months start to lift from my shoulders. Everything was just as good as the first time we visited, we couldn't have been better looked after, it was just perfect. Unfortunately this was only a short visit, but we're back in September - can't wait!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
449 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Anne's B&B
St Anne's B&B
#24 of 53 in Glastonbury
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haydn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haydn House

Property: Haydn House
Address: 13A Silver Street, Glastonbury BA6 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Haydn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haydn House Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing