We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing meal.”
Review of The Apple Tree Inn

The Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #23 of 54 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing meal.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stop at this pub for Fish and Chips on a Friday night in October, and having read the reviews thought we could be sure of some decent fresh food.
We were wrong. We were served two identical wedge shaped flat pieces of reconstituted fish in a leathery batter shell. The chips as it happens were excellent hence the 2 stars.
I challenged the owner of the pub who assured me that the fish was fresh and locally sourced. I'm sorry but a lifetime (I'm 64 ) of fish and chips at least once a month has taught me to recognize the difference between fresh flaky cod and a reconstituted fishy fibre. I just don't believe her.
I have had those shaped fishy things before, 5 years ago in a Little Chef on the A303. I didn't eat it then either, and I think I have seen them for sale in Iceland.
So no points for the wordt fish and chips in Somersett!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zillam321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    15
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
poole dorset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely ambience and food when it came was very good. Very slow service though. Thought the wine was over priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ticaramist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Grub”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went for Sunday lunch, very good service, very friendly, and great food just what you want, they even allow dogs in some areas, they have a good range of drinks including non alcoholic for the driver will go again whenever I'm in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 462dianem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Had a meal here (no stay), tasty food and varied menu with good value for money. The staff were very professional and attentive and the atmosphere was just right! A really good find and would love to go back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of eating here on many occasion, both in large and small groups, and have always felt well catered for.

Although the prices are a little higher than average, the quality of food more than makes up for it. The desserts in particular are fantastic, and the steaks are also really good.

Staff have always been attentive when I've been there, although I think some of the younger members of staff perhaps lack the experience to deliver a level of service that other people might expect, but I find fine, as the food and cosiness are great. One of my favourite eateries in Somerset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Apple Tree Inn also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to The Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing