We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful building for a fascinating stay in central Glastonbury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
George and Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful building for a fascinating stay in central Glastonbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel dates from 1300 and retains many of its original features and is filled with
lovely period furniture. We stayed in the Four Poster room which was huge with a wonderful stone walls featuring stained glass windows looking out onto Glastonbury. The bathroom was clean, lots of hot water. The breakfast was good and plentiful. We felt very at home there
and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joballengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    129
    68
    42
    54
See reviews for
51
203
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My partner and I stayed one night at the George and Pilgrims in mid August, a stop-off point on a tour of the South and South West. We had a great time at this historic hotel. We requested a room in the old part of the building, and our room had loads of character - sloping floor, wonky ceiling and walls and one very small window. Comfy bed and clean, neat bathroom. However, it's the public and bar areas of the hotel which are really nice - relaxed atmosphere, interesting period features and friendly staff. We had dinner and breakfast the next morning, and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the building, but be prepared for it to be smaller, and darker tha...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LisaPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I only stayed for one night and so wish it could have been longer. I booked this hotel because of it's history, if (and when) I come again I will book it because of the lovely staff! Nothing is too much trouble and they make you feel as if you are truly welcome. The hotel itself is very atmospheric and I hope it never changes ... dark and a bit shabby yes but that is how it should be for a 600 year old inn... not bright and pristine like a corporate idea of what it should be. Only a few yards from the entrance to the Abbey too. My room was no. 15 and a view of the top of the abbey, I could not fault it.. very clean with a large bathroom - all immaculate. We had sunday lunch which was plentiful and the breakfast on Monday was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the 'old part'....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blancsanglier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the George and Pilgrims 17 years ago, and loved it. This time though, our room was disappointing - no view - tiny windows - airless and stuffy. The previous occupants had left a necklace under the bed; why didn't the cleaner find it? The en-suite shower room was dirty. The actual loo and basin were clean enough, but there was black mould in the shower cubicle and I wouldn't have touched the paint-work, especially on the back of the door.
The breakfast was brilliant! Loved the full veggie and great toast, and the dining-room service was excellent. At least we didn't have to cope with bed-bugs, as did the people we came with.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had lunch and drinks and this is almost a mini cathedral. A cool beer garden at the back and the staff are so kind and helpfull. You can wander round and see oil paintings and stained glass. Feels like you have time travelled a few centuries in time. Glad its not been modernised as it retains age old character. We sat next to a couple who were staying there and they were full of praise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I was part of a group and we stayed there for a week. We liked it a lot! The Hotel is old and charming. The staff was very helpful and kind. The food was good and the location is super. The rooms could have been more thorough cleaned, but it didn't bother us much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenniAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

The George and Pilgrim is very nice small hotel a located in the very centre of Glastonbury. We had a very large bedroom with a very comfortable four poster bed and a very large bathroom. The breakfast in the hotel was very good along with the bar meals which were excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in a building which is centuries old and is of of great historical interest. The bar is a superb area in which to have a drink with friends in quirky interesting surroundings. There are limited parking spaces but this is offest by the availability of a large public car park immediately to the rear of the hotel and all daytime parking has to be paid for. If you like quirky people andsurroundings then this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a four poster room if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Pilgrims Hotel

Property: George and Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George and Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Pilgrims Glastonbury
Hotel George And Pilgrims
George And Pilgrims Hotel Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing