We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectaions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George and Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectaions”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stop the day after the festival. We'd never stayed here before so we didn't know what to expect but heard that it was reputed to be haunted. I love all that so excitedly we go; backpack n wellys, done-in and grubby hoping to do some ghost-bothering and wash an inch off ourselves ...

We were greeted warmly and checked in efficiently. The lady who checked us in was very polite and very down to earth, as were all staff I had the pleasure to meet. All staff were solid looking and not transparent.. contrary to my expectations.....

We booked a room with a 4 poster bedroom which massive!
The room had gorgeous period furniture, huge bed, flat screen wall-mounted TV, bath and over-bath shower which packed a punch! Wow - 1st shower in 5 days of the festival and the best yet! Flushing toilet - I was in love!

The bar downstairs soon filled up. I only wish we had stayed for food that evening but we decided to go for a walk and see what other establishments in the area were like. A mistake - but that's a different review for a different day.

We requested a late check-out as my partner was ill and had not slept all night. It was no trouble.
In the morning, I saw the house-keeper and I asked about the place's haunted reputation as I was expecting at least a nudge or an inaudible EVP whisper... but nothing. We were given a tour of the 1st floor's most reputed rooms! How great was that! I would have PAID for that tour!

Unfortunately nothing otherworldly went bump in the night for us... so it may not do for you even though I am 'open to channel' you could say.. However....

Over-all, friendly staff that appreciate your custom, make you feel part of the family, clean and charming rooms and a great breakfast - including a full vegetarian breakfast. Ghost guests not guaranteed though.
We plan on returning here next year or whenever we're next in the area.
A very enjoyable stay - staff, food, service, quality, all really good.

Room Tip: 4 poster bedroom was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0la_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    134
    69
    43
    55
See reviews for
54
207
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and plan to revisit , room was very olde world and cosy bar , nice evening meals and lovely breakfast. Didn't have any ghostly experiences but nice place to stay as on the Main Street so can amble around the shops the next day. Great service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rozeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel itself although a little dark and jaded is a fabulous, quirky and eclectic mix of the old and the new. We had an enormous 4 poster room that was clean and incredibly comfortable. The bed also had a full canopy too.
Breakfast was plentiful and the cooked option was great; and the chap who waited on us was friendly and vivacious. We did not eat an evening meal in the hotel as for pub food we found it a little pricey (however, be warned the whole of Glastonbury is fairly pricey).
Overall we really rather enjoyed our stay here, and, although not cheap, we would consider staying again if we were to come back to Glastonbury and recommend it for its charm and character.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had arrived at the B&B we booked only to discovered it had closed temporarily; so we were thrilled to find a room available at the George and Pilgrims. The staff were helpful and accommodating. The room was pretty basic, but everything worked fine. The food was acceptable. The location was great for exploring Glastonbury.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had some friends down from London for the weekend and they wanted to go to Glastonbury for a look around. After we had taken them around we decided to stop at the George and pilgrims for a drink. Coming from London they were keen to try the cider. There was available some cider from Hecks( local producers ) and some from a national supplier. Living locally we were trying to help our friends make an informed decision as to which cider would be best for them. We asked the bar man if we could have a sample of the cider. We were told in on uncertain terms that they do not offer samples to people. The bar man was in our opinion very rude and certainly not at all welcoming. If its the pubs policy not to offer customers a small sample in order for them to make a decision as to which drink they would like to spend their money on, could he not at least say it in an apologetic manner rather than being downright rude? I will never go there again nor will I recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glastonbury hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed for two nights, The hotel is full of quaint character and charm. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms and as it is in the oldest part of the hotel it is understandably wonky!
I put my bottle of water on the bedside table and it slid off! We found it charmingly funny.
The room itself was exceptionally clean so was the en-suite. The mattress at first felt a little thin but I slept like a baby both nights and it was very comfortable.
The owners were both lovely people and couldn't do enough to help, along with all of the other staff.
Breakfast was early and ended at 9am but being at the front of the hotel it wasn't a problem as the normal hustle and bustle of the high street (bin men) made sure we were awake on the second day! No need for an alarm.
Car parking was available free if you could get one of the 3 spaces owned by the hotel. The pay and display at the rear was free between 6pm and 9am but the traffic warden was out at 8.45am ready to pounce if you were late.
I was hoping for a ghostly encounter as we were told there had been sightings in our room but sadly we saw nothing.
All in all we had an excellent stay and would definitley go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stay in mid priced hotels all over the UK on business having a budget of £80 B&B a night and I can honestly say I have never stayed in such a poor hotel. Bad service, rude manager, paint and wallpaper peeling off the walls. Even the TV was not tuned in correctly
The breakfast sausage had bony bits in it (at least I hope they were just bones)
Trading on name with no investment, no customer satisfaction, no attention to detail and horrid breakfast food. NOT TO BE RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Avoid all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnnie976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine b, Manager at George and Pilgrims Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
THIS GENTLEMAN WAS RUDE TO STAFF AS SOON AS HE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL. He wanted to book everthing he had to his room, we explained that this was not our policy but however he could pay at the end of the evening before going to bed but this seemed to be a great problem for him. The room the gentleman stayed in had only been newly decorated two weeks before his arrival and all tvs are checked daily but if he had had a problem he only needed to ask and a member of staff who would have checked this for him. This gentleman came down for breakfast and ate everthing on his plate, when asked if he had enjoyed his food he said yes, not mentioning anything about a bone in a sausage and even ate all the sausage ! !. We do strive very hard to please and help all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 52 in Glastonbury
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 52 in Glastonbury
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Pilgrims Hotel

Property: George and Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George and Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Pilgrims Glastonbury
Hotel George And Pilgrims
George And Pilgrims Hotel Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing