We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George and Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Although not the cleanest hotel we've stayed at 120£ per night, this is a very peculiar and historical place to spend the night while in Glastonbury. Excellent location, friendly staff and good breakfast in combination with its medieval atmosphere will make us come back for sure!

Room Tip: Room 3 is huge and the bathroom is quite modern!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suguisugui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

What a rip off went there today with high expectations and they were not met at all!! The staff were not the friendliest and unwelcoming. The seats were in dark rooms and uncomfortable. Also the meals were average but at extortionate prices. You also had to have a code to get into the toilets, what is that about?! I will not be returning!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caitlin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After reading the positive and enthusiastic reviews I cautiously booked a four poster room for a special event. I wish I hadn't bothered. We stayed in the Henry VIII room and immediately on entering the quirky and 'olde-worlde' decor proved to be old and dirty. Had it not been such a special event I would have walked right back out and asked for a refund, but the last thing I wanted that day was a big argument.

The panel behind the pillows had scuffmarks from generations of heads and what appeared to be caked on grease/hair gel. The furniture ie one large box at the bottom of the bed, two tiny side tables,a wardrobe and a dresser, were covered in rings from mugs and patches of stripped varnish. The carpet had two circular burn marks which nobody had bothered to repair or cover up. The bathroom was dirty with cobwebs on the door frame and ceiling, and black mould in the shower.

Far from being old-worlde and charming the entire hotel seems to be the victim of some serious neglect. Considering the prices they charge per night I'm sure they could afford to replace the cracked and broken plaster on the stairwells, replace carpets, smarten up the decrepit old furniture and restore the old rooms to what must have been some former glory. Being a member of the National Trust and having visited many old building with original furniture and features I know the difference between charming quirkiness and a complete dump. In this case a little bit of paint, some varnish and a bucket of bleach could go a long way.

The staff were very nice though.

If you want something charming and old fashioned, spend a little time researching the lodgings in and around Glastonbury. You'll get far better for your hard-earned money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Majjic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The George & Pilgrims is ideally situated in Glastonbury's High Street, with very comfortable and very spacious rooms. Staff throughout our stay was always friendly and helpful, and with an excellent breakfast you're more than ready for the day ahead.
The medieval decor is present in the pub and dining rooms and hotel areas, with great care and attention for detail. Absolutely recommended for a short or a longer stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark-Sabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here with friends from the USA who loved the olde worldyness! It was a great location & the pub part was very cosy & english. the rooms are not 4 star but they do the job & we all slept well ( no ghostly experiences to report!) The staff were great, very relaxed & friendly.

Room Tip: If you are on the 1st floor above the bar be aware that it could be noisy, but only until about 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsy064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stop the day after the festival. We'd never stayed here before so we didn't know what to expect but heard that it was reputed to be haunted. I love all that so excitedly we go; backpack n wellys, done-in and grubby hoping to do some ghost-bothering and wash an inch off ourselves ...

We were greeted warmly and checked in efficiently. The lady who checked us in was very polite and very down to earth, as were all staff I had the pleasure to meet. All staff were solid looking and not transparent.. contrary to my expectations.....

We booked a room with a 4 poster bedroom which massive!
The room had gorgeous period furniture, huge bed, flat screen wall-mounted TV, bath and over-bath shower which packed a punch! Wow - 1st shower in 5 days of the festival and the best yet! Flushing toilet - I was in love!

The bar downstairs soon filled up. I only wish we had stayed for food that evening but we decided to go for a walk and see what other establishments in the area were like. A mistake - but that's a different review for a different day.

We requested a late check-out as my partner was ill and had not slept all night. It was no trouble.
In the morning, I saw the house-keeper and I asked about the place's haunted reputation as I was expecting at least a nudge or an inaudible EVP whisper... but nothing. We were given a tour of the 1st floor's most reputed rooms! How great was that! I would have PAID for that tour!

Unfortunately nothing otherworldly went bump in the night for us... so it may not do for you even though I am 'open to channel' you could say.. However....

Over-all, friendly staff that appreciate your custom, make you feel part of the family, clean and charming rooms and a great breakfast - including a full vegetarian breakfast. Ghost guests not guaranteed though.
We plan on returning here next year or whenever we're next in the area.
A very enjoyable stay - staff, food, service, quality, all really good.

Room Tip: 4 poster bedroom was exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0la_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and plan to revisit , room was very olde world and cosy bar , nice evening meals and lovely breakfast. Didn't have any ghostly experiences but nice place to stay as on the Main Street so can amble around the shops the next day. Great service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rozeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
136 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
102 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Pilgrims Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range: £75 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George and Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Pilgrims Glastonbury
Hotel George And Pilgrims
George And Pilgrims Hotel Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing