We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly dreadful, don't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George and Pilgrims Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Recklessgal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly dreadful, don't stay!”
Reviewed 10 April 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a business trip as he had a meeting in Glastonbury at 9am the following morning. My first impression of the hotel was the overwhelming smell of stale beer which pervades the building. We had tried to book direct with the hotel but after 48 hours of trying and then getting through one morning to be told to call back later as the person was serving breakfast should have warned us. We arrived in the evening and were shown to Room 8. Room 8 was disgusting, it was called the Confessional, it was grubby, the bed was very small, there was one badly stained spare pillow without a pillow case and was very tired. I asked for another room, and the duty manager showed me to another room No 15. This was in principle a better room but had a variety of problems, the window was propped open with a wastepaper bin to let the smell of smoke out (yes I know it's a non smoking hotel but!!) I went to make a cup of tea and the cups were not only grubby but crusty! as were the teaspoons. It was obvious the toilet had not been cleaned - and yes a set of spare badly soiled pillows - again without cases. I inadvertently touched the headboard and my hand was covered in dust. The duty manager - who was trying his best - went to check one of their best Four Poster Rooms - the Henry VIII, and himself spent 15 minutes trying to clean it. By now it was nearly 7pm and we had checked in a 5.40pm. My husband was having a meeting so I single handedly moved bags up and down the spiral staircase, it was also too late to move out by now. The premium room was anything but. Generally very grubby with - yet again the stained spare pillows with no covers. dust in corners and on the soft furnishings. The furniture was frankly tatty, stanied and chipped and like the four poster riddled with woodworm, one drawer could not be opened as the handles had dropped off, the bathroom had mould on the ceiling and in the shower, no doubt due to the fact the extractor fan didnt work, the fitments were broken - so nowhere to put the soap etc. The ancient windows didnt open in the bedroom, they were sealed shut with a bit of perspex apart from two directly by the bed so a cold blast over you all night. the blinds were broken. The TV didnt work properly etc etc. dreadful. Breakfast is officially served between 9 - 10, not great for a business day...although my husband went down early and they did feed him, unofficially! When I went down the bacon and tomatoes were good, although I was unable to help myself to juice as no glasses on the tables, tea and coffee were self service, by this stage the coffee was stewed so I tried to have Earl Gray, the answer came they had some last week but must have run out.................... so frustrating as the hotel has the potential to be wonderful! It is in the centre of town, the building is ancient, unique and beatiful but is not fulfilling its potential as a great place to stay. They say in their brochure that the rooms have recently been refurbished. This is certainly not true of the three I viewed. The night duty manager tried his best and offered us a meal on the house which we refused.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Recklessgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    135
    69
    45
    55
See reviews for
55
208
29
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Locked out without key codes 10.30pm to 1.30am.
Saved from frost bite by Backpackers next door.

No duvet covers on the duvets or second pillows, TV not working .....
Life is too short & the manager does not give a toss. We won't be back

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glastonbury hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Just got back from Glastonbury and stayed for 1 night at the George & Pilgrim. Amazing building and tons of history which you have to take in while having a pint. My room was very clean and tidy but the tv did not work as the free view box could not pick up a signal. Did not bother tell the staff as it was for only one night i was staying. The only down side was breakfast, It is served from 9am to 10am which is rubbish as its to late for anyone up early and wanting to go out. The staff are very nice and could not do enough for us. I will Stay again at this hotel when im in town as its great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2009

When we arrived, we were shown to a lovely quiet room that was very clean and tastefully decorated. For our first night we decided to eat in the bar - there is an amazing variety of 'Real Food' to choose from and having made our choices we opened a tab with the friendly bar man, bantered with the 'locals' and waited! The food arrived very quickly and was absolutly delicious - and there was loads of it !! Very good value for money! After retiring, we found the bed to be very comfortable, room very warm, flatscreen tv & Freeview a bonus, and the shower brilliant! only niggle would be the naff foam pillows which we discarded and used the feather 'decoration' pillows instead. Woke after a good nights sleep and appeared for breakfast at 9am. Now given that breakfast had started to serve at 8.30 we were pretty put out to find that the full english no longer had any mushrooms, hash browns and sausages were on ration to one each and the coffee was already cold!! Very dissapointed but there there was plenty of cereal and hot toast, served by a friendly waitress. Check out was simple and again the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, the very old building is atmospheric with lots of nooks and cranny's in which to hide away and enjoy your own company or mix in the main bar with the very friendly staff and locals. It was definitley one of the better places we have stayed and for such a moderate price, amazing! We have already booked to go again. When going to Glastonbury in the future, I will make a point of travelling down the night before just to stay here and get an early start. Brilliant all round - to stay or just to pop in for a drink and a meal. Can't wait to get back there agin!!

  • Liked — Position in Town, Value for money, clean, Good food
  • Disliked — naff pillows & lacking breakfast!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OxfordMoonDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Old hotel with loads of history, but service left something to be desired. Paid £100 for a family room and really expected a lot more. Room a good size and clean, however no toilet roll! Told that Sunday breakfast was from 9am to 10am, so went into breakfast room at 9.40am to be told that breakfast was from 8.30 to 9.30am. Reluctantly gave us breakfast when we explained. No juice, no toast and you made your own tea by boiling the kettle and putting a tea bag into a cup......unbelieveable for £100. Another member of staff came into the kitchen and very loudly said 'Why are they still having breakfast at 10am.' Needless to say we won't be back!

  • Liked — history
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Myself and a friend are just back from a great Solstice weekend in Glastonbury, staying for two nights at the George and Pilgrim. From the minute I booked over the phone to the minute we left earlier today, Graeme and the rest of the staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and obliging! The hotel is steeped in character with uneven floors and beamed walls. We stayed in the Monk's Cell, a warm and cosy twin room with comfy beds, freeview tv and a decent shower. You could hear the distant chatter of the bar through the floor at times but as this hotel has a magical atmosphere it was of the happy variety not drunken aggro and simply seemed to add to the charm... The staff were rushed off their feet but it didn't stop them being pleasant and approachable. The veggie breakfast was lovely and second helpings of toast were made when asked... I'm going to suggest my friends take a day or two out to chill the Glastonbury way and stay in this beautiful hotel in the heart of the town or simply pop in for a meal while passing as the food was great! Oh and we were lucky enough to bag one of the limited free parking spaces round the back which cheered up my friend no end as he was on parking payment duty in a morning if not!
Thanks to Graeme and all the staff for making our stay a memorable one! We'll be back before 2012!!!
Happy Solstice!
Loo and Graeme

  • Liked — the staff, the atmosphere, the history... everything!
  • Disliked — Coming home!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2008

Didn't stay in the hotel but ate here on a Saturday night and enjoyed it very much. The bar is full of character and unusual features and the food was excellent. Food did take quite a while to arrive, which was understandable since the place was packed full of people, but we were enjoying soaking up the atmostphere of our surroundings so really didn't mind. Drinks prices were a little high but about average for the town, and for the same price you would normally pay for processed junk in a chain pub we got a really generous helping of delicious homemade chicken burgers served in lovely fresh mini cottage rolls with chips and salad. My only regret is that we were too full to sample the puddings!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dragonslayer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.4 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
296 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George and Pilgrims Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George and Pilgrims Hotel

Property: George and Pilgrims Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George and Pilgrims Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your George and Pilgrims Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George And Pilgrims Glastonbury
Hotel George And Pilgrims
George And Pilgrims Hotel Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing