We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, everything else terrible.”
Review of La Terre - CLOSED

La Terre
Cuisines: European, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant Glastonbury based, with a bright, funky, Mediterranean-inspired feel and cuisine. Glastonbury Restaurant It's a great place to chat over breakfast or a morning coffee, snatch a pit-stop lunch break, or make a night of it with friends, wine and beer. We also have an extensive wine menu and an ever-changing selection of daily specials for cosy, candle-lit dining.
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Dont go there. The service is slack and the standard of food is shockingly bad. Have eaten better at a motorway service station.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Glastovisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consideringthis, Owner at La Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for your insightful, carefully written and constructive review. It's hard to respond because you have put so much time, care and intelligent thought into what you have said, that any feeble attempt to communicate with you, would fail in the face of such astounding eloquence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 271 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Very good located restaurant, closes quite early. Seems to depend from the mood of people working there when they are closing. Soup wasn´t as I expected. I know the restaurant from before. It could develop but needs someone with passion to run it. Cakes seem to be excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SandraTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consideringthis, Owner at La Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for your considered review. In the winter (or at least out of summer peak times) we do tend to close when it gets quieter. This helps to keep the staff costs down and will tend to vary throughout the week. Glastonbury can be pumping some nights and dead at others, so we need to be able to react to what's going on where we can. We are in the process of changing over some of our key personnel, and will be looking to boost our food and service with this. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We went here on saturday night and had a good night after our meal (great DJ on with some very good music washed down with some good cocktails) but were not impressed by the food. The menu we were given was nothing like the menu on their website, with hardly any tapas dishes at all, which was the whole reason why we went there! The only meat tapas dish was a selection of meats - which was basically 3 different cured meats - no cooking involved! The potato bravas were the worst ive ever had - just roast potatoes with a bit of spict tomato relish. The other two dishes we had were hummus, which had a strange taste and the rice in vine leaves which were OK. Therefore very disappointed with the food as we had been looking forward to eating here, but the alcohol and music allowed us to forget about it - that night anyway!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PSP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consideringthis, Owner at La Terre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback. I'm really sorry you were disappointed in the Tapas menu. It does change regularly and tries to reflect what is in season or is available. The website aims to give an example rather than being definitive. We are looking at the best way of creating sharing food and Tapas will be developed more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Whilst in Glastonbury we ate at La Terre on two evenings although it is also open during the day.The food was very good, the staff were friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was chilled. A very pleasant place to dine.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

On a drive back from Somerset cross country we stopped in Glastonbury and discovered La Terre. A really relaxed atmosphere and delicious food. The service was attentive. Many thanks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Buckslady186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Terre also viewed

Butleigh, Glastonbury
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
West Pennard, Glastonbury
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing