We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 lovely days at The Berachach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Berachah

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berachah
Ranked #7 of 55 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 lovely days at The Berachach House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were so fortunate to be with a group, so the only guests at the Berachach House. It was just "our" house for 10 days and I fully enjoyed it. A kitchen with all facilities, plenty and healthy food.
From the house anything you wish to see can be reached within good walking distance.
I especially loved the well where we filled our bottles with lovely fresh water every day. Just down the House. It s a lovely, peaceful and spiritual place and I am looking forward to a next visit!
Thank you Jan.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tineke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    45
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
49
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Berachah House gives you a warm welcome at the second you come through the door, it is a peacefull, silent, clean and well organised guesthouse, Jan, owner and hostess, is a very kind woman who makes you feel at home. It is situated in one of the most awesome parts of England, overall the people are friendly and in peace, it is like everything fits. For me it was a "i'll be back' when we left! Wanna feel England to its purest! Then go!

Room Tip: feel where your heart and your soul needs you to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I don't have much more to say than the other reviews. I have stayed at Berachah many times. My only negative comment would be that it could do with a bit of renovation but heck, it's an old house. It was Dion Fortune's home and the old Golden Dawn Temple. It hasn't had the money lavished on it like Little St Michaels across the lane but it is informal, very spiritual and peaceful with a peaceful lounge/reading room without Miss Jobsworth-MoneyBags bursting in on you with some technical infraction like our last group experience across the road. There's a little walled patio/garden area off the kitchen which is a wonderful peaceful space. All the other guests always seem so friendly and we always make friends. Just the magick of the place.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own atmosphere. The lilac room on ground floor has its own kitchenette if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robotics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were greeted pleasantly and made to feel at home. All weekend it felt like being at home with full use of the house and to come and go as we pleased. We settled in the lounge and were able to use the kitchen at any time. There was also very pleasant company with the other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

It was a blessing that I could stay from 2 until 22 June 2012 with my groups in Berachah and looking already forwards to stay there next year. From my heart I thank Jan Billings, the owner and guardian angel from Berachah, for making the time we spend in Berachah so special and make at ‘our’ home. The angel rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds and \Jan keeps the kitchen very well-stocked do-it-yourself kitchen well-stocked with vegetarian breakfast-fixings and healthy snacks, with is all included in the price!
I also like to others know that Berachah is on the slopes of the Holy Tor and 1 minute walking from the White Spring, with not only makes it a high energetic place to stay , but also the center to visits all the magic and beautiful places in Glastonbury. Its only 10 minutes walking to the shopping street and the many restaurants.
With Love and gratitude to Jan, Donny Heuvelmans www.cosmicflower.nl

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Egyptvacationseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerman, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. the views are spectacular. Each room has access to some lovely garden spot or another, and the atmosphere within is both comfortable and peaceful. Lovely art adorns the walls - original creations from Jan, who keeps a discreet and friendly eye on the kitchen to ensure it remains stocked with whatever goodies it seems her guests enjoy most (provided no animal flesh is preferred - guests are requested to indulge any appetite for such elsewhere). And such lovely goodies - both delicious and healthful!
Every day some friendly person comes to ensure the guest house is clean and well cared for. All the people I've met who were associated with the place have been wonderful, including the taxi driver Jan will recommend if asked.
Situated as it is on the slopes of the Tor, lovely walks every day are guaranteed; and if it's rest that's wanted instead, a rather interesting library awaits discovery below.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

If one has an interest in the mystical side of Avalon, one could not ask for a better location in Glastonbury. Right on the lower slope of the Tor and next to one of the public paths up the Tor itself, it also (as advertised) sits across the street from the Chalice Well and (omitted in the advertising) next door (on the other side) to the White Well. It's within walking distance of the Abbey Ruins and High Street, and has amazing views.

The outside looks disconcertingly modern for an antiquities-starved American, but the locale has history enough regardless of the plaster erected upon it. I found the accommodations colorful, sunny, and pleasant, the bed comfortable, and all facilities reasonably good. My bath-tub was surprisingly deep and good for a long soak after walking too much trying to see every beautiful thing in Glastonbury.

Jan Billings, the hostess, does a remarkable job of unobtrusively tending the needs of her guests, always gracious and accommodating. She keeps the kitchen well-stocked with vegetarian breakfast-fixings and healthy snacks, with an eye out for whatever people use the most. Breakfast itself is pretty much do-it-yourself, no schedule or pressure, and you can also use the kitchen at any time to fix yourself whatever you please, which can save a huge amount of money. When one guest brought a ham she did not make a fuss about it. If one prefers pub-food, The Rifleman's Arms is a short stroll away. The kitchen does not have measuring cups or measuring spoons, and a microwave but not a regular oven, so no baking, but she does provide above-average ready-made bread.

She offers an extensive esoteric library, plus books on art and travel, magazines on the coffee-table in the same vein, and a wealth of pamphlets on local attractions and services. She also provides television and WiFi, for when you're too tuckered out to visit one more fascinating site.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolores N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
4.0 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#4 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berachah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berachah

Property: Berachah
Address: Berachah House 1 Wellhouse Lane, Glastonbury BA6 8BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berachah, a beautiful split-level house is built into the slopes of Glastonbury Tor, an ancient mystical site, and overlooks the healing, regenerative iron-based waters of the red spring of The Chalice Well Gardens. Berachah stands between the healing nourishing calcium-based waters of The White Spring, and the footpath leading up to Glastonbury Tor. From the Breakfast room, there are wonderful panoramic views over the Vale of Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Berachah Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing