We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glastonbury Tor”
Review of Glastonbury Tor

Glastonbury Tor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$123.85*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Glastonbury
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glastonbury Tor”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Walked up the Tor a couple of times by now, and it's always special and so much worth it. Wonderful views from up there and always very special.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartaJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,404
    400
    67
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SandhurstBerkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Apopular tourist site”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I didn't do the climb this time having made it up before my daughter and son -in-law did it my husband came to my rescue as I got a abit lost going around the bottom not very clear paths overgrown a bit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Views from the Top”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Relatively difficult walk up to the small tower that sits atop the Tor, with a stepped footpath and a few benches to rest a while to catch your breath and drink in the views as you make your way up.
The summit provides great views across the Somerset levels, and of the town itself. Well worth he puffing and panting !!
It's a fair stroll from town car parks, though there is a small one closer at a shoe factory (£2), though space is tight now that new houses are being built next door.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking (in more ways than one!)”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely walk, not too much for kids but enough to pass a couple of hours. We went on a windy day but still beautiful up there. Great views around

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the hike.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Sure, it's just a tower on a hill. But the view from the hill is spectacular, and the winding path through copse and meadow offers the opportunity to stretch your legs and break up a long drive if you're traveling a distance, as we were.

Easy to see the hill, but a bit more difficult to locate the path. After driving to a dead-end street, we finally asked a passer-by, only to find out we were a mere fifty yards from the trailhead.

It's popular enough that we met a few others on the trail and at the top, but not crowded enough to ruin the mystique of the myth and legend attached to the tower.

Helpful?
Thank marky_markk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glastonbury Tor also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Glastonbury Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing