We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, kindness and lovely energy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arimathean Retreat B&B
Ranked #14 of 55 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vellerup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, kindness and lovely energy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nothing like this precious, little, kind place. Peaceful rooms, amazing breakfast, kindest kitchen hangout on the planet. Letting oneself fall into the everyday rhythm and unique moments of truth i this house is the ultimate gift you can give yourself, friends and family. I come back again, again and again. Combine it with a 'Tor Tour Of The Tor'

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemminggaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked this for one last night of luxury before heading to the festival, turned out to be just that – really lovely place to stay – and amazing hosts, everything you needed for a nice stay.
Amazing breakfast, convenient parking just behind the B&B for £6 all day, right on the high street to close for everything you need and only around 10-15 mins walk to the Tor.
We didn’t participate in any activities but I’m sure they would have been great. Only thing I would say is that I stayed in the front bedroom, bed amazing but a little noise from the high-street but as a period property, I guess they are limited with what they could do, B&B did provide ear plugs though.
For meal – try the Indian opposite – was really good and the little vegetarian down the road was amazing too!

Room Tip: Take the en suite garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was sent here by the Universe, I cannot say otherwise. What a joy to find these wise and wonderful people! The house, the service, the kindness, the meditations/yoga and individual sessions where far above expectations. It was like visiting your favourite aunts, where you find (and talk about the) insights of life, and not wanting to leave :-). British/Danish spiritual service wrapped up in the kindest people (and two dogs). When we left it didn't even feel like leaving: I plan to go there again with all my heart.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and the rooms are quite comfortable. I would not consider staying elsewhere if I return to Glastonbury. I came to fall in love with the atmosphere. If I do return, it will feel like home. There are not many b&bs you can say that about.

This b&b is also a spirital retreat that offers healing, spiritual counseling, yoga, readings, even regressions to a past life. But the magic is the owner who has been teaching yoga and spiritual practices since the 60s. She creates a incredible atmosphere of warmth and harmony. When you sit down for breakfast it feels more like you are visiting a friends home, than a hotel.

They have two wonderful border collie dogs that add to the charm. And a backyard that is stunning for a mainstreet b&b.

There are a few things that could possibly dissuade you from visiting. They prefer to maintain a calm atmosphere. For this reason, they do not have televisions and prefer that you abstain from using computers (there is no wi-fi). Also, they lock the front door at 11pm.

They only have three guest rooms, so book well in advance.

One last tidbit. If you take the bus from Wells or Bristol (376), it stops in front of the b&b (the first stop in Glastonbury).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newager23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I adore this place, stayed last weekend with some friends as we were attending a workshop. I could have happily moved straight in and never left. The lady who runs this guest house is wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. The decor is superb, the details are seen to from candles and oil burners to a power shower. The breakfast is amazing, everything from fresh toast with every preserve under the sun, porridge, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, fresh coffee, cereals and a variety of different teas. The gardens here are incredible and are worth a visit in their own right :-) thank you for a wonderful stay I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redders16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn, ME
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a lovely place to stay in Glastonbury and the proprietors made me feel very much welcome. I love dogs and they have several. There was always tea available and the breakfast was more than I ever eat when I prepare my own. The room was quiet and I slept peacefully even though the Retreat is in the heart of the old town. I loved being able to come and go as I wished and to explore the village and shops.

Room Tip: I was on the main floor and near the kitchen in a lovely room with its won entrance to the gar den a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Arimathean Retreat is a peaceful oasis right in the centre of Glastonbury. It has charming rooms, comfortable beds, friendly hosts and a brilliant breakfast! The decor and furnishings in the rooms have obviously been carefully considered to maximise the feeling of homely comfort; quality fabrics and matching cushions, with orchids and chocolates adding the finishing touches. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MissB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.2 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.6 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#4 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glastonbury Townhouse
Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 55 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arimathean Retreat B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arimathean Retreat B&B

Property: Arimathean Retreat B&B
Address: 59 High Street, Glastonbury BA6 9DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Retreat on the High Street. A sanctuary of peace & tranquility in the heart of sacred Glastonbury. Beautiful 15th Century B&B with a warm, homely and holistic feel. Relax in your unique & high quality room, put your feet up by the fire, listen to the sound of the fountain in the garden pagoda or explore within walking distance all the sites. A wonderful experience in itself. Deep relaxation, yoga & meditation on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arimathean Retreat B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arimathean Retreat B&B Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing