We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weekend near Glastonbury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bliss Cottage & Yurt
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely weekend near Glastonbury”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Spent an excellent weekend enjoying tranquillity of the Glastonbury countryside and staying in the Yurt at the charming and hospitable Bliss Cottage. Great breakfast and coffee, very clean and well organised Yurt. We were cared for wonderfully whilst being left to our own devices.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed at bliss cottage in the room with the balcony with my sister for 4 days.
bliss cottage is absolutely perfect, a beautiful walk in to Glastonbury is about 15 minutes.
The cottage is so welcoming and cozy and it is in beautiful surroundings and Trish was the friendliest, kindest bnb host ever!
The breakfasts are absolutely amazing, local organic and vegetarian.
our old camper broke down while here and Trish couldn't have been more helpful.
we absolutely loved our time here and hopefully will be back again soon.
Amy and Ashley from north yorkshire

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyoliverhymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I booked to spend the weekend in the yurt at Bliss cottage back in October.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home and were welcomed by Trish and Cosmo the dog and had a lovely cup of tea and a chat. Trish was very knowledgable about the area and offered us plenty of advice and tips on what to do during our stay.

The farmhouse was just beautiful and we were able to use the kitchen and bathroom facilities which were very good. The yurt was out in the garden through a gorgeous little archway, in a secluded corner surrounded by leaves and flowers. It was smaller than I had imagined but when you looked inside it was just incredible. The bedding was opulent and warm and the decoration inside was so ecclectic and interesting with books and poetry and games provided.

Despite being a very wet autumn weekend the log fire kept us warm and the candle light was beautiful and atmospheric, and there was even incense sticks and fragrenced oils and incense burners provided which was perfectly in keeping with the feel of the place.

We were pleased to find that he tor and town centre were a comfortable walk away and the area was just magical, everywere you turn a picture perfect scene. We went up the tour and had dinner in town and were able to get a taxi back easily and at a very reasonable price.

Unbeknown to me, my Boyfriend (now fiance!) had chosen the yurt as the place he would propose, which literally could not have been more perfect. Trish was so kind and we even got a little party popper in our breakfast the next morning to celebrate!

The breakfasts were just perfect, Trish delivered us a lovely basket of goodies each morning, with a whole selection of hot and cold food, including fresh eggs that we cooked on the little camp stove provided, warm pastries, tasty yogurt and fruit, all beautifully displayed and decorated with flowers. The yurt was fully equipped with all the necessary utensils needed to cook and eat and there was even a cupboard outside full of things needed to wash up.

The garden in which the yurt is set was absolutely stunning, a real rambling English country garden with wild flowers all around. The door of the yurt opens out onto the field at the back of the garden which is a wonderful view and a beautiful way to start the day.

I really cannot recommend the aptly named Bliss Cottage enough, we are hoping to return again next year (maybe for our honeymoon if we are lucky) and it will forever be a very, very special place. 5*'s for everything...cannot fault it!

Room Tip: I can't comment on the rooms as I did not see them, however if they are anything like the yurt I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trish o, Owner at Bliss Cottage & Yurt, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I am so thrilled that your weekend was as magical as possible-despite the rain.
It was lovely to have you stay-I felt very honored to host such a moment!
See you again soon-after the Big Day!
trish and Cosmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our stay at Bliss Cottage was like visiting a friend. Trish is a lovely hostess who can help you find your way in the area (nice pubs, walking routes, where to eat in town). She makes the best breakfasts, healthy and organic. The house and garden are really cozy and inspiring and although your share the shower and toilet it feels like you have a lot of space. It´s a beautiful quiet place with a nice view with different nice walking routes to Glastonbury town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A Short trip to Glastonbury at Trish´s Bliss cottage is almost like a home-coming. The spiritual allure Glastonbury exudes is extra sustained by the gentle compliance Trish offers in making her simpel yet cozy cottage yóur castle! The rooms are simple yet crisp, spaceous and peaceful! The beds are large with superb matrasses(I´ve slept them all!Including the yurt.). The one common bathroom upstairs offers all the necessary sanitary needs! If you stay in the yurt, it has all the appeal of an out-door campment in a natural floral-garden setting. The dressing up of its interior resembles a Moorish tent, with colourful candles, tapestry and small closets and table. Absolutely Romantic!
And the breakfasts are indeed unsurpassed! Trish really exerts herself, to convey to your personal taste!
To me she ´s the perfect host!

Room Tip: The yurt is lovely and offers all you need for a `natural´good-night sleep, but if you need the ´loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noboyuki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful rural house. Lovely
lady of the house.It's a really confortable cottage.
You can relax in a quite and natural place. Fresh vegetable food. The woman and her dog Cosmo are really nice and help you to relax and feel good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentinaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This place has a warm welcoming atmosphere with a very friendly owner. She took good care of me all the way from the beginning to the end. Breakfasts were excellent and although we all shared one bathroom/shower it was working well. Hot water was there all the time. The place is a 25 minutes walk to town so for those of you like walking it is perfect. There is one bus going one time every hour or so and also taxi is possible of course.A small shop is located 10 minutes from Bliss. I slept in the house where there are two rooms, in the garden you will find the yurt. The garden is a lovely place to sit and look out at the fields and hear the cows and birds playing around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnetteN866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
1.0 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 52 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
#2 of 19 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St Anne's B&B
St Anne's B&B
#20 of 52 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sacred Garden Retreat
Sacred Garden Retreat
#11 of 19 in Glastonbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Cottage & Yurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Cottage & Yurt

Property: Bliss Cottage & Yurt
Address: 34 Old Wells Road, Glastonbury BA6 8EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful rural setting; Bliss Cottage is a stone’s throw from the Tor, the Somerset Levels and Glastonbury town centre, with immediate access to cycle routes and footpaths. The atmosphere is friendly, relaxed and informal.We are eco-friendly, vegetarian and organic.Recycling, PV panels, water harvesting, woodburners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bliss Cottage & Yurt Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing