We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very satisfied”

Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Our group of friends all lived in four apartments for a week and, as in previous cases, we felt very well as the apartments themselves and in an amazing place where the apartments are built. Despite significant cold outside the heat in the apartments, also clean and cozy. They were waiting for us prepared, heated, lit. Kitchen equipment is excellent opportunity to wash your clothes is a big bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Judita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed in the Stables, which we found to be a great base for our trip to Glastonbury. The location at the foot of the Tor would be hard to beat. It was lovely to be able to stroll up at twilight and enjoy the view, then come back down to our cosy cottage. The owners were very helpful and friendly and fixed a small problem we had with the cooker straight away. I have given 4 stars as some of the fittings were a little tired, but overall it was a great stay, and we would happily go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sally s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We had an extended weekend at the Stick House during January. Jim was able to accept (alter our) booking at short notice. Stick House had everything we needed and was really well furnished and very clean. The upper and lower floors allow a good deal of independence, so 2 couples could easily have privacy, with upper and lower bathrooms as well as bedrooms. The kitchen was fine and the lounge had plenty of room. Most of all, it is incredibly well positioned for walking up the Tor. It is also a nice 10-minutes walk into town. Plenty of parking, quiet, clean, well-furnished - perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PeterInLeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Julie F, Owner at Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review of our Stick House Cottage. The provision and running of holiday cottage accommodation units for us is a big learning curve. Responses such as yours gives us reassurance that we are going in the right direction!. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Gorgeous location - right under the Tor. A sweet little studio cottage, very peaceful.

A few niggles - fridge froze everything (frozen lettuce, frozen mushrooms, frozen milk...!), sides of bed stuffed with pubic hair and so many spiders living in bathroom window that when i opened it, two of them fell onto the windowsill. I counted ten nesting up there. The cottage never really got warm, so I was glad I'd taken my fan heater. Also, nobody there to meet you when you arrive and no obvious reception area (some people might like being totally independent though).

but main let down was the shower, which flashed from very cold to very hot, making showering unpleasant (especially since the bathroom was cold). The shower head looked very old. The owner's response was a long winded explanation that you had to fiddle with the temperature gauge and that this was normal! Personally i like to turn a shower on, get it to the desired warm temperature and stand in it while i wash...call me crazy!!

Definitely won't be staying there again. But if you like exciting showers, you'll love it ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank MmeAlfredCarriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim and Julie F, Owner at Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of The Old Stables. All type of feedback is appreciated as we are unable to improve any possible shortcomings found in our properties offered without being informed.

We are sorry to see you had other issues not covered in your original letter of complaint received following your visit. The cleaning and general hygiene of our facilities is a very high priority for us, especially when visitors bring their pet dogs as you did. The Old Stables is of course the only one of our properties where pets are allowed. We are sorry that our usual fastidiousness with the housekeeping changeover duties on this occasion clearly fell short of your expectations.

With regard to the problems reported with the Shower however and as we previously explained both the heating and hot water is provided via a gas combi boiler, unfortunately neither we or the gas boiler service engineer called as a result of your complaint were able to reproduce your reported problem. We are again sorry if you were disappointed as a result with our response but in the circumstances we could see no justification to comply with your demand for a rental refund.

On a more positive note we will check on your nesting spiders comment and future visitors can rest assured that they will be have been re housed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
2.1 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
1.0 mi away
No.1 Park Terrace
No.1 Park Terrace
#26 of 53 in Glastonbury
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Living Waters Retreat House
Living Waters Retreat House
#47 of 53 in Glastonbury
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glastonbury Cottages and Caravanning

Address: Ashwell Lane | Edgarley, Glastonbury BA6 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four cosy individual cottages either 1 or 2 bed created within a medieval barn and situated at the base of the famous Tor Hill near Glastonbury in Central Somerset together with an adjacent small and friendly caravanning and campsite. An ideal holiday venue for couples or families alike. Perfectly positioned for visiting all that Somerset can offer and close to all things Glastonbury! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glastonbury Cottages And Caravanning Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing