We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gertie's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Gertie's House with the famouse Glastonbury Tor as a backdrop!
Comfortable lounge area
Dining table
Lounge area with TV
The dining area
Double bedroom
Stairway
The view through the Velux rooflight.
A key safe provided for late or unsupervised arrivals.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chloe330
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not luxury and overpriced to be honest. If it was cheaper I'd be less annoyed'”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

There's nothing 'wrong' with this place, it's just not luxurious as described. The interior is basic and the towels are not fluffy and white - nothing wrong with that as such, because it was perfectly adequate if we'd paid a basic price. But we paid £330 for three nights as a special treat.

The bread bin still had crumbs in from the previous guests and the TV signal wasn't working either. There was also a dishwasher but no dishwasher tablets and the plug didn't work in the sink.

It's fine, but should be half the price. I'm from the Westcountry, so I'm not some city dweller with high expectations, but it's not luxury by any stree of the imagination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time for providing a review on Gertie's House, we always appreciate the opportunity to address any issues or problems our visitors may experience although we would have preferred to deal with them with you at the time!

We are somewhat perplexed that with the issues you have raised, why you did not make contact with us immediately? Gertie's cottage adjoins our own house so a knock on our door would have sufficed failing that a quick email or phone call would have given us the opportunity to immediately resolve the issues with you. Our confusion increased when following up on your comments after first receiving details of your review - we could find no issues with the Internet TV - both the internet connection to the TV and the regular TV reception worked perfectly, there was also a supply of dishwasher tablets in a small container under the sink. Again, with a quick call to us from you we could have demonstrated the use of the TV as well as helped you find the dishwasher tablets!

We also find your comments on the towels somewhat bewildering. All of our linen and towels are 600 count Egyptian cotton or better and carefully laundered and tumble dried to make them as fluffy as possible however we take note of your criticism and will in future ensure all toweling is freshly tumbled immediately prior to each linen change thus ensuring as far as possible the towels will be in the best possible condition.

We did however find an issue with the kitchen sink plug and thank you for raising our attention to that fault, a quick change of the sink plug has resolved that problem which of course again if you had let us know at the time would have been dealt with instantly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy G
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This accommodation was beautiful and just what we needed, the owners were so kind and thoughtful we didn't have to worry about anything. The cottage was clean and very comfortable.
Hoping to return soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the Tor
Liked least: Having to use the car to get basic supplies
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony H
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going back to Self-Catering”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I have gone back to self-catering as hotels and b&b's don't seem to provide lounge/sitting areas these days and only provide uht milk for early morning tea!
Gertie's House is one of four s/catering properties with the owner on site. All appear from the website to be of the same standard. Gertie's was tastefully furnished and well equipped. Only thing missing was a cafetiere! The mezzanine 'balcony' bedroom was quite distinctive and made clever use of the space under the sloping ceilings. Although sleeps two, it caters for four, so guests can be entertained.
Glastonbury Tor could be seen from the bedroom window and the adjacent lane leads up to it. The town is quite compact but adequate with a Morrison's supermarket - ideal for self-catering. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: booking starting on any day
Liked least: The sloped access passing the adjacent property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregrine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

- Very efficient email correspondence
- Great value
- Good location for walking up the Tor
- Well equipped kitchen
- Cosy with good heating
- Great shower
- Left to ourselves & very private

Negatives
- a bit dusty
- bathroom smelt a bit damp
- no plug sockets by bed so bedside lamps didn't work (perhaps this is on the to do list...)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing