We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Bocabar

Bocabar
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Glastonbury
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely food at the bocabar , best to book as often lots of tables reserved , good options for veggies ( like myself) weird that it used to be a sheepskins factory ! Good venue for entertainment as well :)

Helpful?
Thank Bethanyjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    82
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A conversion to die for”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

How would you describe Bocabar? Certainly a gastro-bar, certainly a bistro, certainly a café, certainly a restaurant……certainly a really great place to eat and have a drink. A large, interesting lunch-time menu, cooked to perfection, served by friendly staff in a relaxed atmosphere, and with a good selection of beers and wines.
It’s well worth discovering this old red brick factory warehouse….get ready to be converted!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimmoFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Four of us went there to celebrate our birthdays. The boys shared a starter (was suppoed to be fish, they got that wrong & brought the meat mezze), the girls had ceviche & scallops. Theirs was great, our fish mezze not (a bit of smoked salmon, those tacky Iceland prawns covered in filo that are deep fried, some OK humuus) - definitely not worth the money! For mains the girls had the hake (ok-ish) & we had the steak (mine was actually really good - rare & very tender). I agree that the fries were very McD-like & it the mains wasn't worth the £19! Pud was OK but the bill ended up around £40 per head (only one bottle of wine) for which I would have expected something quite special!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pablito247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bocabar G, Owner at Bocabar, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Sorry we got the mezze order wrong. Just in case anyone reading your review is concerned about our prices, the sharing mezze is £7.95 (£7.50 for a veggie mezze). The steak - our most expensive dish on the menu - is 21 day aged Somerset beef (so admittedly, not cheap). Our mains on our evening menu start at £8.50, and we have at least seven mains dishes for £10 and under. So we don't agree that our menu is expensive. The majority of our dishes are also locally sourced within a 30 mile radius - so you definitely won't find cheap ingredients and mass-produced meat or fish (our salmon comes from Dorset).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Such a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the road, this place rather looks like an industrial place, which is no surprise as that is what it used to be. However, it has been re-developed in a practical and useful way. Such a gem for this part of Glastonbury and Street. The bar and restaurant area are stylish and so is the food, which majors somewhat on pancakes. If you don't like pancakes there are many other options. The food itself was okay, but along with the ambiance and service, the whole evening was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnPerkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After reading the good reviews on here we were looking forward to some good food and atmosphere. The place itself is nice enough but nothing special, it has a cafe like feel to it which would be fine for lunch for or coffee and cake during the day but we visited during the evening for dinner and unfortunately we were disappointed. I had the scallops for starters and they were lovely so I was expecting more of the same for the main. I ordered the ribs which were dry, overcooked (black on the outside) and mostly bone with hardly any meat, they were served with corn on the cob which was ok but the fries were like macdonalds only less appetizing (dry and tasteless). My husband ordered steak and asked for it cooked "medium to well" when it arrived it was more like medium rare and the tiniest of steaks, again this was served with the awful fries. The staff were friendly enough but a little slow as it was quite busy. It's such a shame because this could be a great venue but they need to step up the mark with the food. We may just have been unlucky looking at the other reviews, but I doubt we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank babycham061261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocabar also viewed

 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Glastonbury, Somerset
 

Been to Bocabar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing