We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly place to stay”
Review of Meare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meare Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dog friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a dog friendly place to stay near Glastonbury and can only say we found the perfect place in Meare Manor. I have nothing but praise to give to the owners and staff who made us very welcome. The room we stayed in was situated at the rear of the manor with a rear stairway to give me easy access to walk my dog. The room was satisfactory for our needs and very warm and a large comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and the service overall was of a high standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    43
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
69
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed the one night. We were welcomed by Graham, a most charming chap and made us feel right at home. Excellent service, good quality cooked breakfast plus cereals, fruit and anything else you could possibly desire. Staying in the dual aspect Arthur 3 room, it was spacious, clean and very homely. An ideal retreat with easy access to Glastonbury, Wells and Street plus Cheddar a few miles away too. The only downside was that the shower was a little slow and the hotel could do with a little modernisation (without diminishing the character of this lovely place). Highly recommended

Room Tip: Arthur 3 is a dual aspect room, very light, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I've recently returned from a 3 night stay at Meare Manor with my mother. We stayed in the Merlin twin bedded room, located on the first floor opposite a very handy lift. Upon arrival, the charming Graham carried our (rather heavy) case up to the bedroom and explained the rooms facilities to us, after initially deciding what time would be best for our breakfast to be ready. I thought this was a lovely touch, as it allowed us to work to a schedule each morning. The breakfast was delicious when it was served, but would have benefitted from having warm toast and usable butter, as in my experience, the butter was ice cold and I had to hold it against my coffee mug before I could spread it on my toast.

The room was beautifully furnished (updated from the 360 degree tour on the website), with modern features and comfortable chairs. The only problems we experienced were the pillows - which were like cement. My mother ended up rolling up her coat and using that as a pillow. But I appreciated having a proper duvet, rather than sleeping under a pile of scratchy sheets.

The hotel is a brief 5-10 minute drive into the town of Glastonbury, with convenient parking on site, although I imagine that in the summer during peak season, parking would be difficult.

There is a definite atmosphere about the hotel - its exceptionally quiet & located in a quiet part of the town, making 2 passing cars within 10 minutes seem like rush hour.

Overall, this is not a hotel that would suit anyone younger than mid to late thirties, but it was appropriate for mine and my mothers needs. The staff were polite, the hotel was clean, the food was nice and there wasn't any problems during our stay. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows as the ones at the hotel are very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newlyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for a night last weekend and stayed in a magnificent room with a 4 poster bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and we went into Glastonbury by taxi which costs approx £10 each way. The breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious with an excellent selection of fruit and cereals. Highly recommended

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonrakerproud
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here recently on a Saturday night.Room was very nice,Bed very comfortable.Tea,coffee making facilities with some biscuits and chocs/sweets which are a nice touch!Toiletries also included which came in handy.The back garden was nice to sit in,and very quiet too!Breakfast was delicious (Cooked english)and the menu very good too.Selection of cereals.fruits and so on.A very enjoyable stay and we would use this hotel again.A taxi into Glastonbury was £10.50 (dropped outside the backpackers hostel)and around £15.00 returning (we came back after midnight).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonrakerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed here a night with my girlfriend in the Merlin room. Great room with a lovely high ceiling and all the amenities. The place has real character and the owner is very friendly. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here when visiting relatives in Glastonbury, it was only a 10 min drive away and in a quiet location even though it was on the main road, the hotel staff were helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was cooked or continental so eveyone was catered for.
The room was quirky and clean but the shower was not very powerful,bit of a trickle and the bed was too hard for me but thats a personal choice.

It was good value and would consider again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
291 reviews
3.4 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
441 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
11.3 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meare Manor

Property: Meare Manor
Address: 60 St. Marys Road | Meare, Glastonbury BA6 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Meare Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Meare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meare Manor Glastonbury, Somerset
Meare Manor Hotel Glastonbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing