We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”
Review of Meare Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meare Manor
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I'm really pleased that I found this small independent hotel - my stay was more comfortable and the service was better and more personal than a chain hotel. Comfortable and clean with good size rooms. The only small point I would mention that wasn't so great is the shower was poor, but having a bath instead is no hardship.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rw00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    42
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
66
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter Weekend. Beautiful building, big rooms with high ceilings and lots of character. Located in a small village, rural and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. Large bathroom with full size bath and electric shower over. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. Sue was helpful in suggesting things to do locally. Great location for exploring the local area. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank samka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the Easter weekend and we absolutely loved it. Sue and Graham were extremely pleasant and hospitable hosts. The breakfasts were very nicely done and very tasty. We had a superior room and it was done and furnished really well and very cozy. My partner kept stating that it was the most comfortable bed she has ever slept on. The location is very good and less than 5 minutes to Glastonbury. It is located right next to a working dairy farm, and having grown up on a dairy farm, I found this very appealing. It was a nice view over Somerset and nice sounds of roosters crowing in the morning too. We could not have stayed at a better establishment and would most certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanVlerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2013 as part of my 'pilgrimage' to my ancestral village of Meare. The Manor was great. You can feel the history throughout the building. Because it was a quiet period our hosts, Graham and Sue, upgraded us to a four poster room, which was HUGE and full of character. While I'm not a fan of either, our room also came with complimentary port and sherry. You don't have to worry about lugging your belongings up a flight of stairs (as I've learnt you have to do in so many other European places of accommodation) because the manor has a lift.

Meare Manor has a small bar and we had a most enjoyable first evening in the bar trying the local brews and having a friendly chat with our hosts. You can also have an evening meal at the bar. Breakfast, which is served in a separate dining room was also good.

Meare is about a 10 minute drive from Glastonbury, so it's a good option also for those visiting Glastonbury and has the advantage of free on site parking.

My only word of warning, Meare is located smack bang in the middle of dairy country and the whole village can have a very strong dairy farm smell, particularly in the afternoons, but that just can't be helped.

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_NR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for one night with my son, we had a very warm welcome from Sue and Graham they couldn't do enough for us whilst we were there. Its a lovely building with lots of character. The room we had was really nice, great size, very clean and tidy. We had a really lovely home cooked meal the night we arrived. The breakfast was also excellent with lots of different things to choose from. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceybarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our first trip to Somerset, but we couldn't have found a better place to stay and explore. The room was large clean and great value for money with a four poster double and two singles for the children and plenty of space for a travel cot. The hotel provided the cot and bedding.

Sue provided an excellent cooked and continental breakfast and even did boiled egg and soldiers.

We will definitely be staying again and recommend it as a great place for couples or families.

Room Tip: Ask about the larger rooms that can sleep a whole family- Great Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are just back from yet another weekend at Meare manor, and we can happily report there are no floods affecting this area so dont be put off!!!
Meare Manor is a beautiful old building with lots of character, but unlike some big old buildings, it is warm and cosy with a really homely feeling.
Sue and Graham make you feel very welcome and Sue's home cooked food is definitely something to be sampled.
We stayed in the magnificent Mendip room complete with four poster bed! The room was warm, clean and most of all the bed was very comfy.
During our stay we went to Street to do some shopping at Clarks outlet village which is closeby and took some walks in the beautiful spring sun followed by a few drinks in the guests bar shared with a few other guests before a lovely homecooked meal by Sue.
Sue and Graham will help you with anything you may need and the mornings breakfasts are a real high point.
If you are looking for a trip away with homely comforts, friendly hosts, great food and comfy rooms with character and charm and superb value for money, I whole heartedly recommend Meare Manor.
we'll be going back again soon

Room Tip: Mendip room has a great four poster bed as does Lancelot i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lors82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
3.4 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
3.6 mi away
Mullions Hotel
Mullions Hotel
#1 of 2 in Street
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
11.3 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meare Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meare Manor

Property: Meare Manor
Address: 60 St. Marys Road | Meare, Glastonbury BA6 9SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Meare Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meare Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meare Manor Glastonbury, Somerset
Meare Manor Hotel Glastonbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing