We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barton Annexe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
liz p
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great location and apartment”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great location for all Somerset and local sight but wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Jan is an excellent host and very helpful with any needs. Loved the sheep in the field. the unit is exceptional for 2 people with a good kitchen and bathing facilities. Will definitely visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you staying in The Barton Annexe and we hope we may see you again next time you visit Somerset.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janice c
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than worth the time it took to find it, super wonderful!”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I did not know the area so had quite a difficult time finding it, but the owner, Jan came and fetched me. She is a lovely, lovely person, warm and helpful. She left a bowl of fruit, milk in the fridge. This little gem is beautifully decorated and provides a fully outfitted kitchen with little extras. Big, fluffy towels and comfortable beds made my stay so nice. I also appreciated the spotless cleanliness. It is in a very tiny village with a nice pub nearby. Lots of places to visit within 1-2 hour drive. You do need a car though as it is quite removed from transportation services. I would rate it higher than five stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina M
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful self catering in Somerset”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I rented the Barton Annexe for two nights on a nostalgic trip with my Mum to visit our favourite haunts of Wells and Cheddar. The accommodation is in a small hamlet near Glastonbury and well situated for touring around beautiful Somerset. The setting is quiet and rural with a very nice pub The Cross Keys nearby and a handy up-market Spa shop at the local petrol station. Jan was very welcoming and friendly and we loved our private little annexe which is spotlessly clean and well equipped with great attention to detail. The place is ideal for my elderly mum as it's all ground floor with a walk in shower. The bedroom is separated from the living area by a heavy tapestry curtain and there are twin beds. The living room with a dining area is very pleasant and comfortable. The small kitchen is well equipped, including a microwave and fridge. We really enjoyed our stay and I would love to return.. Jan also has a two bed property with a paved garden which looks fabulous. The two rental properties together would make a great place for an extended family to stay. There's ample parking and a play area for children. It's a beautiful part of the countryside and a was a tranquil haven for us over the weekend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise6...
1 review
“Immaculate accommodation, perfect for two”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ideally situated to explore beautiful Somerset. High standard accommodation, fully equipped and cosy. Friendly and informative hosts, who were keen to share their local knowledge. Personal touches made us feel very at home.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madge53
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Everything you could possibly need is provided in this wonderfully converted barn!
Its clean, comfortable and very well equipped.
Jan and Paul are the perfect friendly hosts and the 'little extras' they provide are a lovely gesture,
Its peaceful & quite ... a perfect place to stay in a beautiful area.
I can definitely recommend a stay at the Annexe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharpshoo...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely weekend stay with a nice pub for food and Glastonbury/Street shopping nearby:

The annex is self contained and larger than expected and the driveway is shared with another holiday cottage run by the owners. Jan is a lovely host and was very friendly and helpful even in recommending going to the Glastonbury carnival which we loved.

Would very much recommend a stay here whether for local business or leisure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was great having you to stay and I'm glad you enjoyed The Carnival in Glastonbury.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornishCa...
England
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation........friendly owners.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A very pleasant place to stay....suited us down to the ground..........lovely comfy beds, roomy walk-in shower and easy to stay in accommodation.........much bigger than it looked in the photos.We hadn't expected to have a wifi connection..but there was one and it was included in the price..a welcome added bonus for us. The owners are very friendly and also have a two bedroomed holiday cottage next to this one which is well equipped, has a beautiful garden and would suit a family. East lydford is well placed for exploring many beautiful towns and villages and boasts miles and miles of quiet footpaths and bridleways. We enjoyed our week so much we have already re-booked for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very comfy place to return to after a day's walking.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing