We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middlewick Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a gem of a place. Clean, charming and cosy cottages provide a relaxing comfortable base to explore the gorgeous country side with the Tor a short fun walk with stunning views just behind our cottages. The indoor pool was a welcome relief when it was raining. My girls loved feeding the animals with Jill the owner who was hospitable and welcoming. Looking forward to returning in the summer and enjoying pizza nights on wednesdays from the open air oven. A place to relax, make friends or retreat in to the stunning landscape.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soochi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Really loved this place. It's very friendly and easygoing (would be great for all sorts of visitors - it's child and dog-friendly but also makes a great place for a solo retreat). I stayed in the Cider House - cosy little place - but had a look around most of the cottages and they're all really nice. My favourite was Tor View - which had a lovely scent of pine and also a real wood burner (note that some cottages do have real log burners but others have fakes - not quite the same, but depends very much if you like lighting fires!). The E-dens (eco glamping pods) are really sweet too - and there's a gorgeous shepherd's hut in the orchard as well.
The setting is fabulous. The wood nearby is ideal for hut-building and sitting around a campfire on logs. Just a field away are two ancient oaks - Gog and Magog. It's about a twenty minute walk to the foot of Glastonbury Tor.
There's an indoor swimming pool and steam room (water is warm and the pool is a good size but they're not bijoux by any means).
The cottage was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There's a great selection of DVDs and books you can borrow. Only small quibble was that there wasn't lashings of hot water so my bath was a little on the shallow side. But overall, I loved it and have been recommending it to friends who want to stay in this lovely part of Somerset (btw, apparently the farm has never flooded). Owners are lovely - very friendly and helpful. I was there for a juice detox - run by Vital Detox - which occur regularly here...that was excellent too.

Room Tip: All the cottages are very different. I liked Tor View's more modern and airy feel but the Cider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Brilliant weekend at Middlewick. Stayed in Appletree. Compact but cute, had everything we needed. Kitchen well stocked with equipment, lovely thoughtful gift of organic muesli & chocolate. the cottage was very clean & tidy, toasty warm despite some crazy weather. I love seeing places like this take an organic / natural / eco standpoint. All detergents eco friendly, shampoos organic etc.

Swimming pool & steam room was a real bonus as the weather was not great the first day. Really made a big difference having this facility.

Loads of brilliant walks close by - remember wellies in winter! I walked the Tor - stunning views as the sunday was beautiful sunny day.

Close to town, just 5-10mins drive. really recommends the Hundred Monkeys Cafe for food if you venture out.

Lots of animals to see on the farm, perfect for kids (big or small) :)

Very relaxed feeling at Middlewick, very comfortable place to be. great hosts & great place. We will be visiting again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheekymonkey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Appletree cottage for a couple of nights. The location was great, quiet and secluded yet close to towns such as Wells.

The cottage itself was very large. The kitchen had everything you wanted plus more. The place overall was extremely well presented.

The swimming pool was well sized. We had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porlando87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had a short stay at Middlewick and loved it. Despite being in a rural spot, it is easy to find just outside town. The owners Jill and Jon were most courteous on arrival and made me feel at home instantly. My cottage was Tor View which was kitted out to a high standard, spotlessly clean and very roomy. After a dip in the pool and unwind in the steam room I took a walk into Glastonbury via the cross country route (20 mins) taking in spectacular views of the area. The experience was none the worse for being in the middle of winter and I cant wait to go back in the summer months to explore the area further and light up a BBQ!

Room Tip: Tor View cottage is next to the pool complex and has nice views to countryside and the Tor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thommo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently had a lovely, cosy stay in Adam E den for my partners birthday. On our arrival we were warmly greated and shown around the beautiful, peaceful site, with the chickens wandering around and an amazing view of the Mendip hills. It was the day after the full moon in January, so in the evening we watched the stars and moon pass over the E den with a glass of wine on the decking. We enjoyed a lovely bbq,with fuel purchased from the onsite shop. We also made use of the brilliant indoor pool, we were the only ones in there! The bed was very comfortable looking out under the skylight. The fridge,kettle and toaster were all very helpful. We had our own lockable toilet/shower room with a heater. This meant we could leave our washing kit and towels in the bathroom. We washed up in the sink al fresco. The next morning we cooked bacon sandwiches on the decking under the shelter and watched the woodpeckers and other birds in the orchard, with the Tor towering behind. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to go back in the summer months and enjoy the E den experience again. Thank you Middlewick farm!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReenieRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My family stayed here for Christmas. We initially booked an E-Den and a cottage for my parents. Due to the weather we were quickly and easily upgraded from an E-Den to The Cabin. The Cabin was warm, cosy, and spotlessly clean. The cottage was delightful! Quaint and full of character. The girls loved their twin room and my parents had a spacious double.

We had a lovely Christmas Lunch in the cottage using some of the farm shop ingredients.

Jill was a fantastic host. Her dogs were such fun and the chickens even came up to say "hello". We all had a wonderful five day Christmas break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairygrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
4.5 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#4 of 5 in Glastonbury
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
470 reviews
4.3 mi away
Millbatch Farm
Millbatch Farm
#5 of 5 in Glastonbury
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlewick Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlewick Holiday Cottages

Address: Wick, Glastonbury BA6 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Glastonbury
Price Range: £83 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlewick Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 17th Century Farmhouse and outbuildings set within sixteen acres of apple orchards, paddocks and gardens. Set at the base of Glastonbury Tor within walking distance of Glastonbury town centre or a short drive to Wells, England's smallest city. Ten self-catering stone cottages that sleep between 2 and 6 people, 2 log cabins and 2 Glamping E-dens. Indoor swimming pool and steam room. On site farm shop provides local produce. Plenty of farm animals for children to enjoy within this idyllic location. Large Function Room with catering kitchen also available for hire for groups and retreats. Entire complex can be hired out to accomodate 46 people. Equestrian facilities available for those wanting to bring their horse along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Middlewick Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlewick Holiday Cottages Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing