We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”
Review of Melrose House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melrose House
Ranked #6 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights . It was lovely, with clean beautifully decorated rooms looking on to a beautiful garden and from our room we called see the Tor. plus you could walk from the back of the garden straight up to the Tor .the house is very close to The Chalice Well Gardens and the White Spring the Town of Glastonbury is a bit of a walk . Sarah ( the owner) was friendly and welcoming . I would highly recommend staying here and I would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The b&b we had booked was cancelled a couple of weeks before we were due to arrive, so we picked Melrose and we're glad we did. We've been coming to Glastonbury, with our friend, for a number of years, from the Isle of Wight, and staying at various b&b's, and this is the best one. Just right for the Tor (we were there to see the sunset and the new moon from the top), Challice Well and the town. Sarah is a lovely lady and she and her daughter made us very welcome, everything about our stay was perfect. We consider ourselves to be Avalonions at heart, and will be staying here again. Thanks Sarah.

Room Tip: The Tor room looks onto the Tor (!), brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teepee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a mission to find a bed and breakfast for regular visits to the city. Achieved it in one. Excellent quality with very well designed rooms (I was provided with a tour) and really looking forward to making this the base in the area. Good quality breakfast. Probably wrong to write all this as others will stay, find how good it is and then booking will be difficult.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank PaulC2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I love this place!. Was just for one night there. Everything was perfect! Great room, great locations, ideal hospitality. Situated at the foot of the Tor and within a stones throw of Chalice. Perfect for short break. Price was resonable as well.
Anna

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spend two nights at the Melrose. The back gardens are literally just off the footpath that leads up to the Glastonbury Tor. Walk fifteen minutes the other way and you are at Glastonbury Abbey, restaurants and shopping in town. Our double room was spacious and had a sofa and chairs for sitting. Breakfast was served in a front parlor. Our hosts were welcoming and offered suggestions for dining.
We also visited Wells while we stayed here. The cathedral and bishop's palace are great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fully jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I've read other people's negative reviews and just don't understand. This beautiful Georgian house is set in lovely natural gardens with outside seating areas and a view of the Tor. At the back and left of the garden are steps leading to a stile which you can climb over and follow the fence line round til you come across the steps leading up the Tor.
Sarah, the proprietor, couldn't have been more helpful. She helped us to our room with our stuff, explained everything, replenished anything we ran out of and despite how busy she clearly was, always made time to chat to us and ask about our day. We stayed in the avalon room which was nice and had a lovely view over the vale of avalon. The en suite bathroom was gorgeous and was equipped with shampoo, hand soap, conditioner, candles and matches, and of course towels.
Breakfast was at a big dining table where we could chat with other guests in the morning rather than keeping yourself to yourself. We me some lovely other guests there. There was the usual cooked breakfast to order, fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals. If you wanted anything else, you only have to ask.
We're going back next year and others are coming with us. We will be staying here again and if you prefer self catering, ring and ask sarah about the villa in the garden which sleeps four and has a kitchen/living area between the two rooms. It's not on the website yet but looked lovely when she showed us around it.
All in all, highly recommended. A two minute walk from chalice well and ten minute walk from the main town. Taxis cost us £4.20 when we were too tired or laden with bags.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open as I do, the avalon room is on the front so you may be bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Arrived full of the joys of being in Glastonbury!

When we pulled up and before we had even rung the bell we noticed how dirty the dining room windows were as they were right beside the front door.

Found the lady of the house very stern faced and unwelcoming. She left us waiting outside for a few minutes before her daughter let us in.

The room looked pleasant on first glance except for dirty edges to the carpet.

The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and the smell of the sheets (which smelled old and musty) was so strong that it kept waking me up. I had pains in my hips and legs all night due to the hard and lumpy matress.

In the morning I stripped the sheets back, only to discover a brown water mark stain on the sheets that smelled inscidious and rank.

The bed springs appeared to have previously collapsed as the matress is resting on a wooden board ontop of the springs to stop the matress sinking.

The bathroom, despite it's appearance smelled strongly of damp and the towels smelled like they had been folded up damp for months!

We left at 7.00am without breakfast as we did not want to eat at the house.

We did get a full refund but felt upset by the whole experience.

I can still taste the smell of the sheets.

Don't pay £90 per night to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aslan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Glastonbury
Travelodge Glastonbury
#2 of 5 in Glastonbury
314 reviews
4.2 mi away
Meare Manor
Meare Manor
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#1 of 53 in Glastonbury
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Haydn House
Haydn House
#5 of 53 in Glastonbury
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glastonbury Townhouse
The Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 53 in Glastonbury
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Address: Mel Rose Coursing Batch | Coursing Batch, Glastonbury BA6 8BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melrose House BB is a georgian house situated at the foot of Glastonbury Tor (a hop over the fence and you are at Chalice Well Spring and Glastonbury Tor). A four star ETB rated property with all ensuite rooms, all of which have fantastic garden views. Its gardens surround the property and lend it to having a tranquil feel. Melrose House is suitable for groups visiting Glastonbury, individual bookings and we delight in welcoming back repeat guests. We are a ten minute walk from Glastonbury High Street, a five minute drive to Street and within ten minutes drive to the city of Wells. Millfield Prep School is within walking distance and Millfield Senior School is in Street (five minutes drive). We are lucky to have private parking to the sides of the main house on our driveway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melrose House Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing