We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, quiet, and warm cordiality!”
Review of Melrose House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glastonbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melrose House
Ranked #6 of 53 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We enjoyed our June 2009 stay at Melrose House immensely. Everyone, from the extended family to other guests, was pleasant and genuine. Sarah Oliver’s parents passed by, noticed a new car in the large half circle driveway, and proceeded to welcome us and settle us in the Dove Cote room. A short while later, the Olivers returned home, warmly welcomed us, and provided suggestions for our stay. The Georgian House is inviting, immaculate, old fashioned and comfortable, but modern where it counts. The en suite was roomy, with a large, double bed that was sheer pleasure to sink into (not too hard and not too soft for the back, either). The en suite included the amenities of a hotel (bottled water, tea, coffee, snacks, magazines, maps, hair dryer, bath items, etc.). The bathroom was equal to our five star hotel in London, from the warm towel rack, unending hot water with great water pressure, and large, thick, soft towels. They offered us breakfasts with a wide variety of hot and cold choices, fresh local produce, and generous portions. The other B&B guests we met at breakfast were interesting and fun, from various areas of the E.U. The property is private and quiet, with a dove cote and garden. The Tor begins on the other side of the Melrose House fence. A short walk (less than 10 minutes to High Street) includes passing the Chalice Well and the Abbey Ruins. We were apprehensive to stay at a B&B, but were rewarded with comfort, quiet, and warm cordiality, without a loss of privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2009

The room was luxurious, modern and clean. The bathroom was fantastic - great power showers! Plenty of hot water. Beds were very comfortable, so mattresses must have been changed! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice.
Host very helpful and welcoming. The situation of the B&B was great for walking up The Tor as there's access from the rear of the garden. It was also only a short stroll into town.
I would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrecklesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

Great Welcome.... Room was spotlessly clean and the views fantastic... just as it said on the website. You can see The Tor from the bedroom and it's perfectly located for easy reach of the town and facilities. Bathrooms first class, fanastic shower. Could not fault this B&B at all. The breakfast was scrumptious - there was so much choice - and it was all local produce . The host was very knowledgable of the local area which was of great help to us and could not have done enough for us..

Really friendly, definitely deserves its 4* status. Highly recommended. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank p_315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

looked fabulous on website but few problems

Pros:
Lovely grounds
ideal for Glastonbury Tor
excellent breakfast

Cons:
not ideal location for centre of Glastonbury
hosts not available so had to hang around for 40 minutes for key
mattress on bed needs changing - very uncomfortable
hosts kids noisy - even came straight into room!
no hot water in morning - even though the central heating kept us awake all night! serious problem
check out 10.15

would not use this B&B again I am afraid

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Book rom med utsikt til Glastonbury Tor eller hagen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rum mot baksidan, ingen trafik som stör!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna-Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahOliver64, Owner at Melrose House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glastonbury hotels
0.8 mi away
George and Pilgrims Hotel
George and Pilgrims Hotel
#3 of 5 in Glastonbury
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Covenstead Glastonbury
The Covenstead Glastonbury
#2 of 53 in Glastonbury
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Number 27
Number 27
#9 of 53 in Glastonbury
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Glastonbury Townhouse
The Glastonbury Townhouse
#3 of 53 in Glastonbury
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
Spirals Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 53 in Glastonbury
51 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Red Lion West Pennard
The Red Lion West Pennard
#1 of 2 in West Pennard
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House

Address: Mel Rose Coursing Batch | Coursing Batch, Glastonbury BA6 8BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melrose House BB is a georgian house situated at the foot of Glastonbury Tor (a hop over the fence and you are at Chalice Well Spring and Glastonbury Tor). A four star ETB rated property with all ensuite rooms, all of which have fantastic garden views. Its gardens surround the property and lend it to having a tranquil feel. Melrose House is suitable for groups visiting Glastonbury, individual bookings and we delight in welcoming back repeat guests. We are a ten minute walk from Glastonbury High Street, a five minute drive to Street and within ten minutes drive to the city of Wells. Millfield Prep School is within walking distance and Millfield Senior School is in Street (five minutes drive). We are lucky to have private parking to the sides of the main house on our driveway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melrose House Glastonbury, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing