We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refubished and has a new lease of life”

ASK Italian - Wells
Ranked #25 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Wells is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Wells menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Recently refubished and has a new lease of life”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

ASK always provides a good standard of food and service in Wells. The restaurant has just under gone a complete refurbishement and it seems to have given the place a whole new lease of life. Gone are the coloured plastic chairs - the whole place feels much more grown up!
We had a good meal - I had Pollo Milanese and the chicken was perfectly cooked, succulent and tender, my husband had tagliatelle con aragosta e frutti di mare (one of the new PASTA FRESCA dishes on the menu) and it was delicious.
My only negative comment - the drinks are quite expensive compared to other restaurants in the area.
I would recommend you book to avoid disappointment - the restaurant was very busy even though it was only Tuesday evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrandMrs_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    162
    89
    32
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Food o.k nothing special, Waitresses rude and terrible service. the staff clearly could not cope with a busy restaurant our waitress was surley, basic service lacking like no salt or pepper offered or cutlery served with desert ( sharing desert platter tiny). food bland. one dish was dry with no flavour when we asked for something to be done waitress sarcastically reminded us the dish came without sauce, to which my question is does it also come without flavour? i would not go there again. it was the first night reopening after being close for refurbishment so i was surprised the staff were clearly not up to the job. no tips from me !!!!just to point out we were a table of 9 and all disapointed. i just hope ask italian read this and take my comments on board!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Evening”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had 3 people leaving work and wanted somewhere easy going and fun. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was perfect and really enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Good choice of food and specials. Nice surroundings and friendly service. Close to Cathedral and Bishops Palace for walk afterwards. Handy Carafe of wine about 2 glass's.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crickham10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very easy place to feed the family”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very easy to book on line and they accommodated our large party of 10. It's ideally situated and the food was well cooked and really tasty. The service was excellent. Have been before and no doubt will use again when next in Wells.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ASK Italian - Wells also viewed

 

Been to ASK Italian - Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing