We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average this time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodney Stoke Inn

Rodney Stoke Inn
Ranked #18 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Average this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have been many times to this restaurant which has been excellent but this time we just felt it was average. The starters and main seemed to be plumped up with a lot of lettuce! Garlic mushrooms were nice. Pate was a bit mushy. The steak was over done and my beet root and Brie pie was tasteless and the bottom of the pastry was not cooked. The pub itself is lovely and the food is well presented but the quality we felt has gone down. Just one little thing it would be nice to be greeted with a smile from the gentleman that was behind the bar.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    25
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Go if you got children you won't be made Welcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Well we had been out for a ride out on this Easter Sunday and on the way home we stopped off for something to eat me my husband, daughter-in-law and my lovely Granddaughter ,we entered the bar and I had my granddaughter on her rains I let the rains go just to get some money out for some drinks I still had my eyes on her and she went by the pool table Quite safe and before i got some money out one of the bar staff a male came barging over and said keep that child under control Well with that warm welcome I closed my purse and walked out we went to the Nelson in Churchill and they made us feel so welcome and we had a lovely meal and my Granddaughter was made so very welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Staff Attitude / Unacceptable delay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I don't think we saw any of the waitresses smile once during our visit. There were plenty of them, not many customers and a distinct "attitude" towards customers. You could see the derisory looks and sneers between the waitresses - even amongst themselves. Not once during our meal did they return to ask if we were OK or did we need more drinks, only to take the order and deliver the food.

At one point, having waited over an hour for our main course, my wife asked how long our food would be, the waitress disappeared and we never saw another waitress until 10 minutes later bringing our food.

The food was OK, certainly nothing special and nearly £10 for a smoked salmon starter which had 2 measly pieces of salmon is taking the mickey. Their menu is raising expectations to a level that their chef is clearly unable to meet.

With the food taking so long, we asked to speak to the Manager. A rather intimidating guy appeared who point blank refused to accept there was anything wrong in waiting an hour for our main course blaming a busy service - at it's height we counted 6 tables occupied. Busy? Really?

So, with a manager like that, I guess it is easier to understand the attitude of the waitresses and the contempt they show their customers.

One day, I hope they get to visit a genuinely busy pub in the real world and see, even when busy, waitresses can smile and be attentive to customers. It will reflect in their tips as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The ambience was good, food and service excellent and good selection of ales. A good all round experience

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny south of England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pub lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped here on our way into Cheddar where we were staying in a holiday cottage. We ordered a poughmans and a glass of wine each. The pub was fairly quiet but even so had a lovely atmosphere and the bar team were very pleasant. The wine was reasonably priced and a decent quality. The ploughmans when they arrived were exceptional (and enormous)! Huge variety of salad ingredients / pickles etc. the cheese and ham were very tasty. I had to have a doggy bag to take half of it home. Absolutely delicious! Will definitely drop into this pub again as our son lives in the area. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rodney Stoke Inn also viewed

 
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Been to Rodney Stoke Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing