We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay- can't recommend enough!”
Review of Stoberry House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stoberry House
Ranked #3 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here for Valentine's Day with the John Lewis 'Unusual Escapes' giftbox, given to us as a Christmas present. Upon arriving we were greeted with lovely homemade tea, cakes and a free upgrade to the 'Black Orchid' suite. Frances couldn't help us enough, she has an excellent knowledge of her local area and offered us all the help we could need in finding things to do and places to eat (we recommend 'Anton's Bistrot' on the main high street).

The room itself was spotlessly clean, with a stunning view of the countryside and had everything you could possibly need for a weekend away, even umbrellas and torches in case you come back late!

Breakfast was outstanding with plenty on offer, the continental breakfast alone will set you up for the day! Frances is an amazing cook and makes everything fresh to order (the almond croissants are particularly yummy!)

All in all you couldn't ask for more in a B&B :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your Valentine's day at Stoberry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

A night's stay at Stoberry House for my husband and I (a Christmas gift from a friend) was just what we needed to take a quick break from work and computers not too far from home. The room was lovely and very comfortable and Frances offered a warm welcome with tea and cakes and recommendations for things to see and do nearby. We're relatively local and so knew about most of them, but we took her advice to go to Shapwick Heath at dusk to catch the starling roost. What a treat!
We'd already booked a table at Goodfellows in Wells for dinner - fabulous, high quality seafood restaurant (with neighbouring bistro/cafe) which was a real find and will be visited again sometime (for a special occasion, as not a budget destination!). We enjoyed the walk to and from Stoberry House, lit by the moon but we did borrow one of the torches helpfully left by Frances in our room... just in case!
Excellent night's sleep in comfy beds and then a magnificent (only word for it!) breakfast which was copious and excellent quality. We didn't need anything for lunch after that!
We spent the rest of the morning re-exploring Wells (cathedral and Bishop's Palace). We'd definitely recommend the location and the accommodation for a special short break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to larger room if feasible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay and looking after you and it was much appreciated that you chose to stay with us even though you live close by. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Francis and Tim's superb B&B. Without doubt the best we have ever experienced. Francis is the most welcoming host we have met and her breakfasts are to die for. Silver service and her home made food is without equal and her rooms are spotless with 3 separate lounge areas to relax in. Tea and cakes on arrival and the thoughtful touches in the room at night make the visit even more memorable. The garden is a picture and we will revisit again this year. Moreover, at other B&B's we have paid double the rate Francis charges for a lesser room and service. If you had to sum up Stoberry House in only a word then that word be "Outstanding".
Steve and Maureen, Leeds.

Room Tip: Book the larger rooms for space and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyContinental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do our utmost to go the extra mile for our guests at Stoberry House, and it is so nice when they appreciate and enjoy what we are doing. Thank you again. A side note: it was a pleasure having your gorgeous Bentley in our car park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and i stayed at Stoberry House last weekend. Even in gloomy weather, the accomodation was warm and inviting, along with the hosts. Welcome drinks, and nibbles, upgraded room, all the information you could want etc. Room was perfect, warm, and the breakfast was home made and amazing. We will be back later in the year! You will love it here. James & Rachel P

Room Tip: Look at the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for your review it was a pleasure looking after you both, and we do appreciate you taking the time to write the review. We will always upgrade our guests if possible and we appreciate you acknowledging this, and we look forward to welcoming you later in the year when the garden comes to life and one can enjoy relaxing in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have had two wonderful visits to Stoberry. The location is fabulous and Frances is a wonderful hostess. Delicious home-made sweet things on your arrival, spotlessly clean and stylish rooms and a breakfast that can only be described as sumptuous! A great variety of very tasty edibles are available with the continental breakfast - including spelt bread and muesli - and the home-made yoghurt is to die for. I hardly had room to do the delicious cooked breakfast justice.

The garden is lovely and a very short wander down the drive will reward you with a fabulous view of Wells and the Cathedral. This is a truly lovely place to stay.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

Thank you very much for your review – it was a real pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stoberry in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights and loved it - couldn't fault it in any way. Frances and Tim, the owners, are so obliging and helpful, the accommodation and facilities are fine and the breakfasts superlative.
In addition, Wells is full of interest with a gorgeous cathedral, bishop's palace, and a parish church which makes it into Simon Jenkins' 1000 Best. The surrounding area is lovely and full of interest.
Go for it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the wonderful guests who stayed with us in 2011. It was such a pleasure to welcome so many return visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is a beautiful and well thought out bed and breakfast. The house and grounds are really special. The garden is landscaped beautifully, full of quirky sculptures. The house is unusual but plush and welcoming.Tthere are a couple of guest lounges too. Our room had a lot of thoughtful touches, home make cakes, lots of toiletries, dressing gowns and slippers, bits and pieces we might need like torches, umbrellas, and wine and whisky. (I'm teetotal, but they looked good).Whisky seems to be a theme, as each sitting room seemed to have a bar with some good malt whiskies. Our hostess, Frances, was very helpful, and looked after us well, bringing us drinks as soon as we had settled.
The breakfast was incredible. Our hostess had prepared all sorts of home made goodies. Such as her marmelades and jams ( there were several and many of which contained
whisky ), home made breads, scones and croissants, home made yoghourts and mueslis.
The only downside to the breakfast was that if you want cooked you have to order it when you book, or at least 24 hours beforehand. Unfortunately, I failed to read this in the confirmation email ( even though it was clearly written).
Anyhow, the continental version was beautiful and plentiful.
Frances works very hard to make sure her guests have everything they need, and was very accommodating.
We stayed for one night with a gift voucher, I believe that some two night minimums apply, looking at the website. The room we had was the Aeonium, quite a small shower, but a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: have a look at the website, some rooms have a bath, this one had a small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BorisCatBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoberry House

Address: Stoberry Park, Wells BA5 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £112 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoberry House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stoberry House Hotel Wells
Stoberry House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing