We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday”
Review of Stoberry House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stoberry House
Ranked #5 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I booked our stay at Stoberry House as my perfect Birthday Gift for my Sister on the occasion of her 60th Birthday. The weekend was made so much more special by the attention to detail given by Stoberry's hosts Frances and Tim.
We began our visit with a champagne welcome in their beautiful gardens ahead of the garden tour - which was an absolute delight to my sister, seeing both where the project began from ruins and has grown into the delightful gardens now surrounding the property! The tour was completed with cream teas in the gardens, where we were able to take in the tranquility which is Stoberry!
The rooms are comfortable and delightful, with much attention given to a 'spoiling experience' to then be followed the following morning with an outstanding breakfast consisting of the largest choice of home made breads, pastries, preserves, yoghurts and cereals that I have ever seen! Or a wonderful full English if preferred!
The Hosts are extremely welcoming to their magnificent home, and nothing is too much trouble - from arranging a bouquet of flowers in our room to including advice and information should any help be needed in deciding where best to take in the sights!
Stoberry House is a ' must' for anyone wishing to visit the area surrounding Wells! For comfort, caring Hosts, excellent food and wonderful sights. An English home at it's very best.

Room Tip: No tip needed all rooms are delightful
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PamForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

We appear to have had a small glitch in our system and a few of our special guests were not thanked for their kindness in giving us a review ,so a little belated but heart felt thank you from all the staff at Stoberry ,you may like to know the garden is still giving a lot of pleasure to our guests, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Stoberry House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from two fabulous days as guests of Frances and Tim in their beautiful home. We stayed in the Black Orchid room which was delightful. The furnishings were special and the attention given to detail that made our stay so memorable are too numerous to record!. Frances was particularly helpful in providing information about the area and the sights,the restaurants(the good the bad and the ugly!!). We were upgraded at no extra cost and were "blown away" by the continental breakfast which was a true "gourmet" delight ( I could have spent hours sampling the cheeses alone!!). We can't wait to return later in the year when the weather is warmer as we have promised ourselves a cream tea and several bottles of wine in the gazebo overlooking the glorious views of Wells Cathedral and the beautiful rolling Somerset countryside towards Glastonbury Tor!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB1522014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Thank you for your kind comparisons and for all of the lovely comments in your review.

We too hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A fabulous location overlooking the city of Wells in beautiful parkland. We stayed in Black Orchid Bedroom which was very over priced for the size of the room, very small double bed and extremely cramped shower room all in rather dubious taste. We were disappointed that the cooked breakfast was at an additional charge which is ridiculous considering the cost of the room (£110). The continental breakfast was so over the top with so many cheeses, charcuterie, pastries and breads which we really didn't want and would have much preferred a simple boiled/scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Naturally I was saddened to learn that you had been less than happy with your experience, in particular the accommodation, and I am adding here to our personal reply that we have already sent to you and I hope that this went some way to clarifying our situation. I realise that if you had been given the £95 three night rate for your one night stay, we would not be replying here, but we have a duty to all our other guests. Tonight we offered to upgrade our Black Orchid guests tomorrow at no extra cost as we had a cancellation, but they are so happy with the Black Orchid room they do not want to change; it is so much a matter of personal preference. Let me just say again how sorry I was to learn that you did not completely enjoy your visit to Stoberry House .

We do have various sizes of beds in our double rooms: from super king, king-size, and one has a four poster bed. We have a varying price structure from a one night rate to a reduced rate for a three night stay, and Black Orchid, has a three night room rate of £95 per night. Our rates are the same for weekends and weekdays; all this information is on our website and there for you when you made the booking. In your earlier correspondence there was no mention of the new statement that you thought the décor is ” all in rather dubious taste”, the décor is personal preference and there are photographs of all our rooms on our website, and at Stoberry we welcome guests from many countries .
Black Orchid room has a small walk-in wardrobe, drinks tray, kettle and a Nespresso coffee machine, selection of alcoholic beverages, fresh flowers, fruit , chocolates, Magazines, hair dryer, curling tong mat, and with top quality Egyptian cotton bed linen dressing gowns and slippers with fifteen pieces of linen for each room; torches, umbrellas are provided, and a welcoming Tea or Coffee and cake, or glass of wine with olives and nuts etc; guests who decide they wish to have a drink later in one of the three little sitting rooms are welcome to ask for a selection of free nuts and olives. Tea and coffee and biscuits are available all day in the pantry, with fresh milk in the fridge, and an ice machine - all for your comfort .
The en suite shower room although not large, has a 900 x 1200 shower enclosure.

Although I appreciate you found our wide selection for breakfast over fussy and no doubt a little
bewildering, most of our guests really enjoy the luxury of so many taste experiences and appreciate the effort and work put in to sourcing the best local produce and all the home made baking, jams, marmalades, etc . This is a buffet style breakfast so you are welcome to help yourself to what you wish to have. You were aware when you booked that a cooked breakfast was not included in the price and I also went through all the options with you during the complimentary welcoming tea and cakes, and specifically asked if you wanted a cooked breakfast; and I recall that you were very definite that it was continental that you wished to have

Regrettably things were also not easy for you with three of the restaurants in Wells, all with good reputations, not being able to satisfy your needs for various reasons that night .

Let me just say again how sorry I was to learn that you did not completely enjoy your visit to Stoberry House. Obviously the complete satisfaction of every guest on every occasion is our impossible aim and ambition, and to learn that this has not been achieved on this occasion is a matter of great regret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This was a fantastic two-night stay for us. We were upgraded and our bedroom/bathroom were excellent, with everything you could possibly need (and more). Frances and Tim were so welcoming and full of knowledge and information about the wonderful small city of Wells. While February is possibly not a good time to see Stoberry at its real best (the Somerset Levels were flooded when we were there), we had a great time. The highlight is undoubtedly the unbelievable breakfast, taken in a fantastic room overlooking Wells and far beyond (including Glastonbury Tor). One can only agree with all the other reviews about the breakfast and we have never had one like it anywhere else. Frances has real pride in what she produces for breakfast; with so much choice, it is difficult to know where to start! There is no way that a cooked breakfast is required and this particular continental breakfast took us well over an hour!

We will certainly be recommending Stoberry to some of our friends and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_ilbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed our views, at the moment the sun is shining and it is absolutely beautiful, all the buds are bursting and it really lifts one's spirits. It would be lovely to welcome you again to Stoberry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have been lucky in life and have enjoyed many 'breaks' in many guises, in many places across our globe. An over night short stay in Somerset that leaves a massive feel good factor of being totally spoilt has got to be exceptional! Where oh where do you start - here goes! Setting - go there for yourselves is all I can say. Room - an absolute luxury experience with a mass of the finer touches you remember. Views over Wells Cathedral when you wake with the sun rising is a tad special. Breakfast - well - It puts to shame many 5 star hotels attempting to impress! How does Frances create a veritable feast of innovative and creative flavours resulting in culinary delights that puts the standard definition of a continental breakfast into the shade! You must write a breakfast recipe guide or maybe not - keep it secret and we will come back for more...Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the really spacious and lovely Studio which was a bit like having your own private spac...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always happy when our special Stoberry breakfast is appreciated, and we like to provide a wide range of dishes and flavours which we change often. We look forward to spoiling you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for one night at Stoberry. We were upgraded to the studio which was amazing. Francis has thought of everything and more, from the facilities in the room, the decor, and the breakfast. The setting is amazing with fantastic views over Wells and just a short walk down to the centre of Wells. Our breakfast was second to none, with everything homemade by Francis. There was so much choice and we spent 2 hours eating our food! Francis is the prefect host, and genuinely wants her guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I would recommend Stoberry to anyone who wants a relaxing environment with lots of extras to make their stay even more special.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11randa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, It was so nice seeing you relaxing and enjoying our home cooking and taking advantage of all the taste experiences.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Stoberry house for two nights in December and it was the most relaxing and luxurious bed and breakfast stay we have ever had. Frances and Tim really have thought of everything and we enjoyed being able to walk into Wells so easily. We felt really pampered from the moment we got there. We hope to go back in the Spring to see the garden with the bulbs in bloom!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lady Hamilton room which had a four poster bed, a lovely big bathroom and plenty of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonBirdlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frances y, Owner at Stoberry House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy a relaxing time with us at Stoberry. We would love to welcome you again, the bulbs are just starting to bloom !

Best Wishes

Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,045 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoberry House

Address: Stoberry Park, Wells BA5 3LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £87 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoberry House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 26 acres of parkland nestles Stoberry House and its beautiful 6 acre gardens with breathtaking views over Wells, its cathedral and the Vale of Avalon. Stoberry is unique being completely surrounded by countryside yet within easy walking distance of the City. This luxury boutique bed and breakfast lies in beautiful surroundings, comfortably furnished reception rooms lead to tastefully and individually decorated en suite bedrooms and I look forward to welcoming you to Stoberry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stoberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoberry House Hotel Wells
Stoberry House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing