We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly host!”
Review of Cadgwith House

Cadgwith House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cadgwith House
Ranked #17 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very friendly host!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My dad stayed here, with a partner. I joined him for the breakfast, which was superb. The host, Jackie was so nice and friendly and we could have chatted all day. The room was amazing, spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at Cadgwith House for one night with friends, having read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed. It lies on the outskirts of Wells, in a quiet location, with just a ten minute walk into the Cathedral and town. If you haven't visited Wells, you should. It's a delightful small market town with a remarkable Cathedral and Bishop's Palace. The rooms looked to be newly decorated, with very modern ensuite bathrooms. I had a double room that overlooked the garden. The bed was very comfortable and my bathroom was large and felt very luxurious. Jackie made us feel very welcome and advised on local places to eat. The information folder in each room was comprehensive, including some menus for local restaurants, and there was a good range of tourist leaflets for the surrounding area. Downstairs, there was also a cosy sitting space with sofas (and more tourist information) next to the breakfast area. Breakfast was lovely: fresh fruit salad, yogurts as well as the usual cereals.The bread was delicious as was the cooked breakfast, all local ingredients. Wells makes a very good base for exploring the surrounding area, and we felt very much at home at Cadgwith House. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were made very welcome by our host Jackie. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Jackie was very friendly and attentive. There is a short walk to the city centre. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you Jackie.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurabrown507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wonderfully friendly and charming host. Great setting and very peacefull. Evrything was spick and span and the location was very convenient. We would recoomend this place to anyone. Great fun and super atmosphere. Keep B&Bing Jacky.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulianSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments! It's good to know your thoughts and especially that you like the peaceful location, even if we don't get the heat of Spain! Once again many thanks.
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great B&B in Wells. A close walk to downtown and eateries. Large, comfortable rooms. The breakfast were hearty and plentiful...and delicious. The owner (Jackie) was the icing on the cake with her very friendly and helpful manner. Wish we could have stayed longer than our 2 wonderful nights!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRP179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you so much for a fantastic review! I really enjoyed your group staying here so it's great to know you had a good time too! I'm pleased you found your room comfortable and I do like to know that breakfast went down well! It's always good to hear that guests get back home safely and I wish you many more happy adventures together! Once again many thanks.
Very best wishes, Jackie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Cadgwith House proved to be an ideal place from which to explore the lovely town of Wells. We were booked into this B&B as part of the Bath and West country walks vacation. Jackie was exceptionally friendly and helpful in her recommendations, allowing us to take full advantage of the two days we had in Wells. The breakfasts were delicious. Large modern rooms allow for relaxation and rest. Most highly recommended.

Room Tip: Three spacious rooms, all on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you very much for both the great review and for taking time to write it. I was truly delighted to have you stay here as guests and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time exploring Wells and of course that you got back home safe and sound. Once again many thanks.
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Lovely warm welcome by owner , fantastic room and bathroom , I must say that everything was exceptionally clean .
Good range of items for breakfast including freshly made fruit salad and a free range cooked breakfast, that kept us going most of the day
Would highly recommend staying here for one or several nights
Derek & Sarah Bale

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derekbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I like my guests to "tuck in" to breakfast so it's good to know you really enjoyed all of it and equally good that you found your room comfortable.
best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#32 of 37 in Wells
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadgwith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith House

Property: Cadgwith House
Address: Cadgewith House Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadgwith House is a modern spacious house in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from the Cathedral. We have 3 large bedrooms all with spacious en-suite facilities. A choice of excellent breakfasts is offered, using local/free range produce and home made seville marmalade. Wells is an ideal centre for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Longleat, the Mendip Hills and Wookey Hole or spend a day in Bath. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cadgwith House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing