We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm and friendly welcome awaits you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cadgwith House

Cadgwith House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cadgwith House
Ranked #12 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly welcome awaits you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend here, and just want to say what a lovely host Jackie was.
She was extremely welcoming, attentive and cooked a lovely breakfast! The room was spacious and immaculate with lovely finishing touches.
We had a lovely weekend in Wells with our friends, made all the more special because of our stay here.
Would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visitng the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellview011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm very glad that your week end in Wells was a success particularly as you were here to celebrate a birthday. It was a pleasure to have your group staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
58
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

A few months ago, we were invited to a wedding in Wells. Being me, I left the booking of our accomodation until the last minute, so expected all the good places to be taken- especially as the town was very booked up. However, we really lucked out.

Jackie was really welcoming, even changing check-in time to fit round the church and the reception (a brief drive away) easily. She gave us taxi numbers, showed us a map of the town so we got our bearings and could find our way back, and made sure that we had everything we needed, then left us to it. In the morning, she cooked us the most amazing breakfast, made with local ingredients, which was very welcome indeed, and we had more of a chat- she is very nice and the reviews on the site speak for themselves on this regard. Jackie immediately puts you at ease, without coming across as fake (as some B&B owners do), nor does she smother her guests by constantly involving herself in your business (as others have). A class act. It really does feel like you are staying with a friend, rather than in a B&B.

The room itself was by far the best one I have had in a B&B. It really is more like a small boutique hotel than a traditional B&B. The bed was so comfortable that my fiance enquired where she bought it! I think if he could have he might have strapped it on the car and taken it home with him! The room and bathroom was well-appointed with everything you could want. The one slight downside was the shower wasn't very powerful, but everything else made up for this- and there is a bath as an alternative.

We didn't get to see much of Wells, but the welcoming atmosphere of the Cadgwith House makes a return trip an inviting prospect. A final note- do try Jackie's homemade marmalade- it is simply incredible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V1ct0r1a_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I can only add my agreement to the many five-star reviews of Cadgwith House. My wife and I stayed two nights in mid-September, 2012. Jackie is the ultimate host, the room was spacious, clean, and the bed was super. The breakfast was cooked to order with fresh, local ingredients. Jackie’s travel library is extensive. Her guide book to the Glastonbury Tor gave us great information about the site. We highly recommend the walk to the top but read the guide book first to understand its prehistoric significance. If we return to Wells, we will definitely return to Cadgwith House.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterwizard_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My dad stayed here, with a partner. I joined him for the breakfast, which was superb. The host, Jackie was so nice and friendly and we could have chatted all day. The room was amazing, spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed at Cadgwith House for one night with friends, having read the previous reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed. It lies on the outskirts of Wells, in a quiet location, with just a ten minute walk into the Cathedral and town. If you haven't visited Wells, you should. It's a delightful small market town with a remarkable Cathedral and Bishop's Palace. The rooms looked to be newly decorated, with very modern ensuite bathrooms. I had a double room that overlooked the garden. The bed was very comfortable and my bathroom was large and felt very luxurious. Jackie made us feel very welcome and advised on local places to eat. The information folder in each room was comprehensive, including some menus for local restaurants, and there was a good range of tourist leaflets for the surrounding area. Downstairs, there was also a cosy sitting space with sofas (and more tourist information) next to the breakfast area. Breakfast was lovely: fresh fruit salad, yogurts as well as the usual cereals.The bread was delicious as was the cooked breakfast, all local ingredients. Wells makes a very good base for exploring the surrounding area, and we felt very much at home at Cadgwith House. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were made very welcome by our host Jackie. Our room was very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Jackie was very friendly and attentive. There is a short walk to the city centre. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you Jackie.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurabrown507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Wonderfully friendly and charming host. Great setting and very peacefull. Evrything was spick and span and the location was very convenient. We would recoomend this place to anyone. Great fun and super atmosphere. Keep B&Bing Jacky.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulianSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments! It's good to know your thoughts and especially that you like the peaceful location, even if we don't get the heat of Spain! Once again many thanks.
very best wishes
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot
0.4 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadgwith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith House

Property: Cadgwith House
Address: Cadgewith House Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadgwith House is a modern spacious house in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from the Cathedral. We have 3 large bedrooms all with spacious en-suite facilities. A choice of excellent breakfasts is offered, using local/free range produce and home made seville marmalade. Wells is an ideal centre for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Longleat, the Mendip Hills and Wookey Hole or spend a day in Bath. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cadgwith House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing