We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Cadgwith House

Cadgwith House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cadgwith House
Ranked #18 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed only for one night and had a very comfortable and quiet stay. The property is located in a quiet residential street: it backs onto an open grass area, and has off-street parking. The décor is uncluttered and the rooms and bathrooms are very large with good noise insulation between them. Real feather duvets + pillows, and good quality beds were superb, so were the fluffy towels in the bathroom. Breakfast choices were excellent - a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit and a full-english were on offer. Cadgwith House is a short walk from Wells city centre and all that has to offer. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 126Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Cadgwith House and were really pleased with this b and b. The room was very spacious, well appointed and immacculately clean. Rooms have fresh and light decor.Top quality towells, linen provided with nice touches such as complimentary bottled water, biscuits with the tea and coffee and bathroom toiletries.

Jackie the owner is genuinely friendly and made us feel very welcome offering good advice on where to go.

Thoroughly recommend Cadgwith House and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for your great review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay both here and generally in discovering this part of Somerset. If you are back in this area sometime it would be lovely to see you again and hear how you are getting on with your adventures in the South West! Once again many thanks!
very warm wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I would recommend this B&B any day. The rooms were a very generous size, spotlessly clean, breakfast delicious and the hostess very pleasant. It is a brilliant location as well, no problem finding it, or parking outside, it is within 10min walk of the town centre and the Bishops Palace, but away from the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you very much indeed for such a positive review! It's really good to know you found the rooms to your liking and it seems you enjoyed breakfast too! Maybe the candle for the birthday girl helped - though I can't take full credit for that! I wish you all many more happy family gatherings!
very best wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed with Jackie for one night at Cadgwith House. Location is up a quiet side street and perfectly walkable to town. The room and ensuite used to be two rooms, and hence feels a really good size and spacious. The bedding/linen were all off top quality and the room very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was lovely and a good choice, and wi-fi too!

The thing that made it is that Jackie is genuinely friendly, we had a great laugh, I almost didn't want to leave! Would definitely recommend Cadgwith House and would stay there again in future

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_S69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Well, what can I say other than thank you very much for such kind words! I have to say when I think of your stay here and our chatter it does make me smile ! I'm very pleased you found Cadgwith House to your liking even if Wells city didn't have quite the night life which would have been your style! It's good to know you did get back home in one piece and without too many distractions on the way!! I hope Pretoria offers all you wish for, either way an optimist like you is bound to get the best out of it!

very warm wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I revisited Jackie with our granddaughter in late June for a three night stay. Everything we liked about Cadgwith House during our visit in 2012 was repeated (see my review of last year’s stay for details). Our room (street side) was again spotlessly clean, quiet, had great beds, and plenty of room for the three of us. Breakfasts were great and we liked the opportunity to use a menu to choose our breakfast the night before. This was a new innovation this year and it worked well.

You won’t go wrong staying at Cadgwith House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterwizard_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you so much for your generous review. I was delighted to see you again and to meet your granddaughter - she is truly charming. I hope she enjoyed her first tour of Europe and wonder if Avebury is still her favourite historic place?

It's thoroughly pleasing to have guests who enjoy the rooms and breakfast and are kind enough to say so! I'm glad Cadgwith House came up to standard on your 2nd visit and I apologise for not responding to your first review which was so glowing! I seemed to have had a "go slow - stop" time last Autumn!
very warm wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had a fantastic time with Jackie she made us very welcome. Room was clean tidy and very spacious. Bathroom was bigger than most rooms I have stayed in and again clean and tidy. The breakfast and hospitality was second to none.

Myself and Emma would heartily recommend anyone considering staying in Wells should stay with Jackie

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mappeal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you very much for your fabulous review. Luckily you were able to discover Somerset in the sunshine and you said how much you enjoyed the area so it's great to know that you also found your room comfortable and breakfast was up to standard! Many thanks!
best wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in June. We arrived a little too early however Jackie made us very welcome. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, you must try the home made marmalade and jam - yummy. The rooms were clean and spacious ours had a view over the garden to a small paddock where we were lucky enough to see a green woodpecker on our last morning. Would we stay again?> Yes most certainly! Thank you Jackie.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwindonButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide1920, Owner at Cadgwith House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you very much indeed for this great review and of course it's especially good to know you enjoyed the home made goodies! There is a family of green woodpeckers across the park so it was good that one at least made an appearance while you were here! Should you be visit again you might get to see all the relatives!

very best wishes, Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.9 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Dulcote
45 reviews
3 mi away
The Crossways
The Crossways
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,076 reviews
2.7 mi away
Potting Shed Holidays
Potting Shed Holidays
#1 of 1 in Coxley
69 reviews
2.4 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cadgwith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadgwith House

Address: Cadgewith House Hawkers Lane, Wells BA5 3JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cadgwith House is a modern spacious house in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from the Cathedral. We have 3 large bedrooms all with spacious en-suite facilities. A choice of excellent breakfasts is offered, using local/free range produce and home made seville marmalade. Wells is an ideal centre for visiting Cheddar Gorge, Glastonbury, Longleat, the Mendip Hills and Wookey Hole or spend a day in Bath. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cadgwith House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing