We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't know what it's like thanks to no kids policy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 23 Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Don't know what it's like thanks to no kids policy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were refused a stay here because we have a baby. We were just looking for a place for one night. He is not a newborn and nor is he a toddler - he is a small child who we carry everywhere. The owner said she used to take kids and dogs but while dogs can be ok sometimes, she never takes children. Thanks for that comparison.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gourmet_Vegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
This is quite a difficult one to reply to as it was only a telephone enquiry not someone staying at No 23 and I feel your memory of the conversation differs from mine.

We all learn through experience and as someone who has had children and also tried to allow children to stay I feel qualified to say, here it does not work very well.

There have been parents who do not wish to pay for their small children; those who allow them a very free rein screaming round the house; those who tread their children's food into the carpets, etc., then there are those who feel so uncomfortable that they cannot stop their children crying and disturbing other guests during the night that they themselves also have a very poor night's rest.

Indeed, quite a wide spectrum - so experience has led me to suggest that No 23 is not the place for very small children. Yes I have also taken dogs and no, here is where memories differ, I did not compare your child with a dog and that suggestion was a little naughty.

I felt your telephone call was intimdating and aggressive and I was very sorry you had obviously had such a bad day. I also feel (although TripAdvisor tell me otherwise) that this kind of review is outside the remit of what is helpful to other travellers.

Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
94
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at No. 23 for one night on 16/03/13. On arrival Liz was welcoming and friendly, we were shown to our room (number 4). The room was clean and had all the amenities you would expect at a b&b. It was lovely to have decent coffee provided rather than the unpleasant Nescafe sachets provided usually in b&b's. The room was lovely and warm as the weather was chilly for the time of year. At breakfast there was a great choice and Liz was really accommodating. We loved the fruit salad to start with, before the lovely full English!
The location was great and there was parking. We enjoyed our night at No.23, Liz was a great host, the room was quiet and the bed comfy, and breakfast was yummy! We would definitely stay again and for more than 1 night! Thank you Liz

Room Tip: We had no problem with room 4 contrary to the previous review, it was clean quiet and we had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemima m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kindness and great review. It is always important to me that people are comfortable and enjoy their stay at No 23 and it is very much appreciated when they take the time to say so.
Please accept my very best wishes.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Much of the favourable comments expressed in respect of No 23 Bed and Breakfast and the owner I am very happy to ascribe.

The house was indeed spotless, the furnishings to a very high standard. The breakfast on the two days we spent at No 23 cooked to perfection. The owner is very genuine, bubbly and most welcoming.

However reviews feature the front rooms, ground floor and first floor, and indeed it is these rooms which are high-lighted on the web site.

There are no photos of bedroom Four, on the first floor at the rear of the property.

The second weekend of March we spent two nights in this room. We checked in at 6.00pm with the intention of spending the evening relaxing in the room. We assumed, from the photos of the other room that arm-chairs were part of the facilities. Sadly that was not the case.

On offer was a wooden dining room chair, just the one. The only way the chair could be used for any length of time was to use a pillow as a back support and a pillow on the chair to afford some little comfort.

Many elderly people will know how uncomfortable it is to sit on a bed for four hours or so. The only other seating possible was provided by the toilet seat!

The owner did try to get an easy chair from another room but was unsuccessful. No other room was offered.

The 'complimentary tray' was well below standard. as can be seen from the photo tea bags were stuffed into a jar. The coffee was presented in the same manner. This really is a most unsatisfactory arrangement, lacking in simple hygiene standards. Again the three biscuits on offer were in a sandwich box and not individually wrapped.

The television was very small, as can be seen from the photo, and very high up the wall, making viewing a strain and difficult.

On the second morning guests were expected to share a table with other guests.

We felt that the web-site was misleading, failing to make any reference to the facilities in Bedroom Four. Clearly the website had something to hide in respect of Bedroom Four.

No 23 would have received a 'full house of circles' had the bedroom had easy chairs, there certainly was room, had wrapped biscuits and individual tea and coffee with a decaf option.

The possible sharing of breakfast table with other guests would have made the information more honest.

Clearly the standard of rooms varied, mini television compared with 26" flat-screen, two easy arms chairs compared with one hard wooden dining room chair, heated towel rail compared with fixed hanging towel rail.

The price we paid was £140.00 for the two nights, paid in advance in cash - no receipt was offered.

We have not offered opinion which is unfavourable in respect of the owner or the breakfast.

However we feel it right for other would-be guests to know the facts concerning Bedroom Four.

Room Tip: Avoid Bedroom Four - Check and be clear about facilities before considering a booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thierry_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
I suggest people reading this draw their own conclusions as to the reason behind this review.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

23 Bed and Breakfast is a great little stay just a matter of minutes walk from the city centre of Wells, yet still feels private and residential. Liz is a great host, will accommodate for any of your needs, and has a wide and fantastic breakfast repertoire of recommendations.
Interesting she keeps a map of the world locating where all of her guests have come from - it's a pertinent marker for how many people from all over the world have had the pleasure of staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Many thanks for your kind review - I was please to hear you enjoyed our fair city - even in January!
With best wishes.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Liz, the owner of No. 23, not only runs a very nice B+B, she went the extra mile, coming to fetch me when I wandered in the wrong direction away from the bus station after my arrival. She modified her schedule to allow me to stay an additional night, and was most accommodating in every way. The B+B was pleasant and reasonably priced, too. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay at No 23 - thank you for your kind review! I very much hope the rest of your time in the UK is interesting and good for the research.
Warmest wishes.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Diane and I flew from USA to UK overnight, visited Stonehenge in the morning and then drove over to Wells for the night. By the time we reached Liz's splendid B&B were were in desperate need of a nap. Liz warmly welcomed us even though we were early and discretely left us to our afternoon recovery. Our ground floor room was perfect for our needs and soon we were off to Evensong at the cathedral. Liz suggested a great restaurant for dinner and, speaking of food, provided us with an excellent breakfast the following morning. We enjoyed our one night at No. 23 and will stay again the next time we visit Wells.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room that overlooks the garden if you don't mind steps. Is is a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boblLansdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Many thanks for your kind review - I hope the rest of the holiday was a success!

Best wishes.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying with Liz Evans for two glorius and restful nights in Wells on my way to Glastonbury. I wish I'd had more time to stay at #23! Liz is a wonderul hostess. Our twin bed room was extremely clean and the beds very comfy. Loved the down comforters! Her breakfasts came with perfectly poached eggs and a fresh fruit compote including figs from her own garden! She did a bit of laundry for us while we walked the high street and saw the cathedral; when we returned it was dry and folded. Liz, you're the best! I'll be back to Wells and No. 23 B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
How very kind of you to write a review - I am so pleased No 23 was all that it should be! I do hope the whole visit to England was a good one and that you are now home sfely.
Please accept my very best wishes.
Liz Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#23 of 40 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 23 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 23 Bed and Breakfast

Property: No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Address: 23 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your No. 23 Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 23 Bed And Breakfast Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing