We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed one night when walking the Mendip Way. Excellent reception, comfy room, great breakfast including fresh fruit salad to start. Liz both witty and professional. And free wifi too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

I really hope you completed the walk before the weather broke and enjoyed rambling through beautiful rural Somerset!

My thanks for taking the time to send in a review.

Best wishes.

Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a Great B&B. The rooms are Lovely. The beds are really comfortable and the decor is lovely. The host is really interesting and lovely to talk to. The breakfast was excellent.

All exactly what you look for in a B&B.

I would return.

However, the downstairs bedroom is next to the kitchen, so a little noisy at breakfast. Ask for an upstairs room if you want a lie in. It's no problem at all if you wake up at breakfast time.

Room Tip: Downstairs bedroom is next to the kitchen, so a little noisy at breakfast. Ask for an upstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gizzie121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review - I'm so glad you enjoyed Wells. The downstairs bedroom is actually next to the breakfast room and since it's usually me that is making a noise - my apologies!

With regards.
Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

An overnight in Wells, and this was a great place to stay, welcoming, comfy with great food and a lovely host! There's nothing more she could do for us! The bedrooms are delightful, and the breakfast is cooked just as you'd want!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

My thanks for a good review - always glad to know we pleased!

With regards.
Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I recently stayed one Saturday night at 23, and I would most definitely stay here again. The room was 1st class with everything I needed and the shower was great! So great - I had 2 showers! Liz was so helpful and professional - I felt welcome and comfortable from the off. Liz also provided me a wealth of information about Wells and the surrounding area. Breakfast was superb and Liz kindly extended the service to provide me with a tasty packed lunch for the next day.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindiLoo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Always good to know I didn't fail on the packed lunch!! Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the trouble to post a review - always appreciated!

May your stones lay straight......
Very best wishes.
Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a great one night stay at No 23. Liz is brilliant and even laughed at some of my jokes! Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Only a short walk into the city centre too. Highly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Ah - lovely folks - thank you for your kind words - always appreciated. I hope Devon was as lovely as Somerset.
My best wishes - keep clicking!
Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I had a wonderful, comfortable weekend staying at 23. Liz is a lovely, chatty person who makes you feel at home the moment you walk in. She also went beyond the call of duty to cater for my very particular needs, and took great care to make sure that I was all right without every making me feel that I was nuisance. The room and the bed were comfortable and spacious, and everything worked! the breakfast was delicious, too, and, again, Liz takes care of everyone's needs. Thanks, Liz.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you m'dear, for taking the time to post such a kind review - it is much appreciated. Some guests just come and go and some remain in my memory with warmth and affection - be proud that you are most definitely one of the latter!

My very best wishes.

Liz EVans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My friend and I stayed 4 nights in Wells while on a recent holiday to Southern England. We really enjoyed our stay at No. 23. Liz was very friendly and welcoming, the room was spacious and comfortable, with two armchairs for relaxing in the evening. We loved chatting with Liz, who was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us suggestions and hints about exploring the area. We were very happy we used Wells as a base for touring the surrounding area as the bus connections were so good to everywhere we were going, and Liz's home is very convenient to the bus and to the City attractions. Breakfast was great every day, with lots of choices and fresh fruit and yogurt every day. Our room faced the street, but we did not hear a thing, so it must be well soundproofed. Would love to go back if there is an opportunity.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizEvans, Owner at No. 23 Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Ah girls - thank you for your very kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed Wells - I hope the rest of your trip was good too. Now that you are safely back home I hope you will spare an occasional thought to little old England!
Very best wishes
Liz Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 37 in Wells
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 23 Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 23 Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £83 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your No. 23 Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 23 Bed And Breakfast Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing