We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Wells?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glengarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glengarth House
Ranked #18 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Wells?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed one night at the weekend and we were really impressed. Room was spotless, light and airy with great decor and some nice little touches such as quality toiletries and a bed so comfy we didn't want to get up. Julie the landlady is lovely and friendly, and does a fab bacon sarnie and my other half says the scrambled egg was delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karensk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
It was so lovley of you to leave me a review, so thank you, a lot of people look on trip advisor, and always say to me that they have read my reviews, it is most appreciated, and I hope that people feel that true descriptions and comments have been left. Thanks again. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a great Bed and Breakfast! We stayed for the night with our two children and received a warm and friendly welcome. The landlady, Julie, offered advice on where to visit and eat within the area and was always happy to see us.
The decor was lovely, comfortable, and of a high quality.
The breakfast was great, a big selection and lots for the kids to choose from. I can't recommend it enough.
In the room there was a selection of kids toys, books and DVDs which the children loved, the room is also on the first floor so easy to get to with the children. The beds were also very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thanks so much for your review, I am so pleased that you and your lovley family enjoyed their stay in wells. I hope your journey back was ok, and that you had a great time at your nans party. Thanks again, and when you are back in wells I hope we can look after you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halesowen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

i was down in wells for a friends wedding and needed a b&b close to the centre. glengarth is a short pleasant walk to the cathedral. julie`s everything you`d want in a ladylady,bright and bubbly,full of local information. the room was bright, airy and comfy, breakfast was excellent. all in all a great find and a great place to stay. excellent base for touring wells/glastonbury ect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at glengarth, I am sure it was extra special for you seeing wells in the sunshine! Hope to see you again one day. Thanks. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I came across Glengarth by chance on the Internet - how lucky was I ? A very warm welcome from Julie who just couldnt have made us feel more welcome . The room had been recently refurbed , clean comfortable and fully equipped to make your stay memorable . Lovely toiletries , up to date magazines , Wells tourist board leaflets and comfortable chairs to relax in whilst deciding what to do next . We didn't drive for a couple of days , we were in walking distance of town and Julie gave us great directions and super recommendations of places to eat . Breakfast was great lots of fresh fruit , cereals and a choice of cooked items .
We will return to Glengarth and Julie soon , we have recommended to family and friends already and will continue to do so . Highly recommend you visit 10 out of 10 .

Room Tip: We viewed two other rooms a twin and a double all equally quality all different in decor and views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your really lovley review, I am soo pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, it was such a pleasure to look after you both, glad you enjoyed the city and all it's beautiful sights. Thanks again for taking the time to write your comments.julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I would highly recommend this b&b-we wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting our family in wells. There is always a warm welcome time and time again, it's very stylish and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishandluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was great to welcome you back, hope to see you again later in the year. Take care until then. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Just come back from a lovely weekend stay at the glengarth guest house. The rooms were very clean and well presented. The owner Julie was fantastic from the moment we arrived and made us feel at home. It is walking distance from wells town centre, so the cathedral and bishops palace were visited which we thoroughly enjoyed!!! A fantastic weekend, highly recommend staying at this b&b if you are thinking of visiting wells. 10 out of 10 fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thanks so much for your review, I really appreciate it. It was lovley to welcome to glengarth, and so pleased you had great weather to enjoy the city at its best. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at Glengarth for one night during a business trip and from the moment I arrived I knew I had made the right choice! I was greeted by the owner 'Julie' with a big warm smile and welcomed in to a very homely place. I felt as if I was a regular there and just staying at a friends house for the night. The decor is very tasteful and the beds very comfortable and warm. The house is very clean, tidy and a short walk into Wells center which was full of historical sites.
I will stay there every time I go back to Wells. Hagen

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadweller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your review of Glengarth, it was a pleasure to have you staying in our home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Julie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.7 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#25 of 40 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarth House

Property: Glengarth House
Address: 7 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glengarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarth House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing