We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long term resident”
Review of Glengarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glengarth House
Ranked #12 of 24 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I commuted weekly to Wells for two months, staying in Glengarth House, and could not fault it. The rooms were clean, spacious and well equipped, the breakfast delicious and full of variety, and the proprietors very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

On our visit Julie the owner was away but her friend Sonya with her daughter Amy made us feel so welcome. Glengarth House was immaculately clean and decorated to a high standard. It is within an easy walk of the city centre, can't wait to visit again. The only thing I would have enjoyed to have at the breakfast table was freshly brewed coffee! See you all again - hope to meet Ted next time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of property are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Julie is a wonderful, friendly & helpful host. She makes you feel very welcome and not like you are in her home at all.

The room was lovely, clean, and spacious.

The only downside to the stay is having to leave.

Thanks for having us and we hope to be back next year.

S&B.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDoctor001 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If I am lucky enough to visit lovely Wells again, Glengarth House would be my first choice. Julie the owner was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, she accommodated us on very short notice. The B&B was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Lovely breakfast, with some nice extra touches! Great location, being just a few minutes walk from the city centre. Glengarth House was a lucky find and I would highly recommend a visit to this B&B. Shame we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepy_Owl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Helpful, friendly hostess provided great suggestions for eateries and sights in Wells; Clean B&B with great breakfasts - Julie catered for 3 vegetarians for breakfast! Good location in Wells for access to buses, sights and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I've stayed at the Glen Garth B & B on five separate occasions now and about to have my sixth visit shortly and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Top marks for all the rating areas it offers and the owner Julie couldn't do enough for you to make your stay comfortable but at the same time gives you the space to chill and relax as well. To me she's become a friend over the time of visiting and I look forward to seeing her.
I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone so as long as I can get booked in when I need to stay, haha!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the house or back if you don't wish to be on the main road. Doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakesKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Recently stayed at Glengarth and it was by far the best B & B we have ever stayed in. First class welcome and service from Julie (the owner). Beautiful well appointed rooms, cosy but contemporary in style. Extremely clean and well presented, we were a 5 minute walk from Wells centre with its beautiful Cathedral and grounds. Lots of quaint independent shops and also a lovely market in the square, well worth a visit!!
We shall definitely go back......Thank you Julie!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 24 in Wells
357 reviews
1.3 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Dulcote
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarth House

Address: 7 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £84 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glengarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarth House Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing