We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moroccan delights!”
Review of Beah

Beah
Ranked #13 of 94 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Moroccan delights!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ate here on a Saturday night. It was very quiet, only 3 tables, so not much atmosphere. Service was excellent, staff couldn't do enough for you. Food was very good. We had a shared starter for two which had a lovely selection and there was plenty of it. Main was a tagine cooked and served in a stone pot. It was still boiling when it arrived straight from the oven! It was very tasty and not too spicy for milder palettes but served with Harissa on the side for people who want to add more heat. Considerably More expensive than pub food, but nice to have some different choices on the menu, which you wouldn't get in a pub and the attentiveness of the waiting staff was just right. Always on hand but not over doing it. Only criticism is my side plate was slightly dirty but in their defence they were not white plates but pretty patterned Moroccan style crockery so it was not obviously apparent. Location is a bit strange in the car park opposite the public toilets but that should not put you off, it's worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theb0ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    84
    19
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sweet find!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

On our way back from Cornwall we found ourselves nearby and booked a room in Wookey and found this place purely by chance. The resturant seems to have the only interesting menu in the small city so we popped along.

There's a large carpark right next to it so no problems there and we pretty much had the place to ourselves on a quiet Thursday evening, don't people know Thursday is the new Friday?

Great decor and nice setting, the waiter, a young lad was the most pleasant and polite chap I've ever met and gave a great front of house.

Food here really surprised us, WoW, we had Pigs Cheeks and the whole quail. These mains were simply outstanding and have to be some of the best dishes we have ever had.

Great for birthdays too as my wife got a free slice of cake and candle after we mentioned her recent birthday.

Id love to come back to Wells and would love to come back here. Keep it up guys!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NaffSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We just had a shared combination starter and pud and this was more than adequate for us. Despite it being a very busy Saturday night with 3 parties in we were well looked after and what we ate was delicious. After a day sightseeing we were too tired for a big meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Ate at Beah for the first time and have to say the whole evening was fantastic, great food , wonderful service . 5 Stars!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but over priced”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Brilliant friendly service, limited menu choice. good food and flavours if you want something different however slightly overpriced.
i wll return but not regularly due to price and limited choice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beah also viewed

 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to Beah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing