We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick a dry Day!!”

The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.98*
and up
Entry Ticket to the Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Bishops of Bath and Wells for 800 years this stunning medieval palace is open for all to enjoy. Surrounded by a breathtaking moat with resident Mute swans, you can cross the Drawbridge to experience a true hidden gem in the heart of the City of Wells. The Palace sits within 14 acres of RHS partner gardens, including the beautiful well pools from which the city takes its name. In the Arboretum is the newly developed "Dragon's Lair" children's playground to tire out little legs. There are daily Guided Tours, a Cafe serving delicious lunches, cakes and hot and cold drinks. Dogs are welcome on leads.
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was to me overpriced very disappointing after visiting the cathedral but the grounds are worth walking round lovely on a dry day.

Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Hello. Very sorry to hear you felt disappointed on your visit with value for money. We feel we charge a reasonable entry price for such an important heritage site - the only residential and working Bishop's Palace in the UK open to the public. Our prices are actually one of the lowest in Somerset and we haven't increased our prices for two years now (they will increase slightly in 2014 as other sites do).

For admission visitors get to enjoy 14 acres of gardens, a medieval palace, private bishop's chapel, annual exhibitions and events, children's trails, medieval living history and guided tours. In 2012 we also opened up free entry to the cafe, shop and education room.

As a registered charity (256356) we rely on ticket sales as an essential income stream so that we can remain fully open 7 days of the week to the public. I hope this goes some way to re-assuring you about value for money.

Very pleased to hear you enjoyed the gardens, they've been a bit hit this year with the great weather.

Best wishes. Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
There are newer reviews for The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 869 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

I loved these gardens - the use of the old palace in the garden design creates special vista. It is worth going on a guided tour to get the most from the space and to hear the stories about the planting. But also a lovely space for quiet contemplation as there are plenty of quiet corners.

Thank SharynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hello,
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and especially found the guided tour useful and interesting. Our gardens have had a bumper year this year and we can't wait to see them move into autumn.
Thanks so much for the great review, hope you visit again one day.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to visit just for a coffee or for a walk around the palace and gardens. Beautiful and a great place for a picnic with young children.

Thank Smudger125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks for the great review. We think it's a beautiful place too! Hope you visit again.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Well worth a walk around here beautiful! The building like all of Wells is stunning and the gardens maginficient.

Thank 960Arrabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thanks for the 5 stars! We love our gardens too!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Could not enter Palace because of the dogs, but that's not a complaint! There was a fantastic whicker dragon with whicker nest and eggs in the gardens. The reflection of the palace in one of the ponds was wonderful.

Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi Eileen, Thanks for the 5 star review. Glad you got to enjoy the gardens with the dogs. Yes, sadly we can't allow dogs inside as we need to protect the collections and portraits but I'm really pleased you enjoyed the gardens and saw the reflection in the well pool - one of my favourite spots!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishop's Palace and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Bishop's Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing