We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite contemplation”

The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.75*
and up
Wells Bishop’s Palace and Gardens Entrance Ticket
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Bishops of Bath and Wells for 800 years this stunning medieval palace is open for all to enjoy. Surrounded by a breathtaking moat with resident Mute swans, you can cross the Drawbridge to experience a true hidden gem in the heart of the City of Wells. The Palace sits within 14 acres of RHS partner gardens, including the beautiful well pools from which the city takes its name. In the Arboretum is the newly developed "Dragon's Lair" children's playground to tire out little legs. There are daily Guided Tours, a Cafe serving delicious lunches, cakes and hot and cold drinks. Dogs are welcome on leads.
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Bishop’s residence for 800 years is now surrounded by a moat and gardens. Only the ruins remain of the Great Hall, but they offer the backdrop for a contemplative walk around the walls of the Palace (with views of the deer park) and through the gardens. The gardens include an orchard with picnic tables and vegetable garden. Swans glide through the waterways that run throughout the grounds. The Palace buildings are less impressive, particularly after just visiting the Cathedral next door. As we left, the Wells Croquet Club was setting up to play on the lawn in front of the Palace − all properly English.

Thank Woodroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Guest Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello, lovely to hear you enjoyed some quality time in the gardens. You'll be pleased to know we are looking to develop our interior over the coming years. The magnificence of our neighbour Wells Cathedral certainly is impressive, but we know as one of the only working and residential Bishop's Palace's in the UK we have a lot to share.

Currently visitors can enter the 800 year old palace and enjoy; Annual exhibitions and a humorous animation featuring former bishop Peter Price; a Long Gallery displaying portraits of past bishops of Bath & Wells; the Coronation Cope worn at a monarchs coronation; dressing -up clothes (Bishop, Queen and Medieval characters); The stunning wooden Jacobean staircase; and a digital timeline of the site in the recently re-furbished vaulted medieval Undercroft. Attached to the palace building is the bishop's Private chapel that all are welcome to pass through, sit in or photograph.
The croquet players are a big hit and will be back next season!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 904 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I must admit to being a bit 'so-so' about country houses, churches, ruins etc, but this surprised me. Fantastic to walk around the gardens, ramparts and along the moats and wells. Even in October it was interesting to explore the gardens, they must be fantastic in the summer. Plenty to photograph and explore. Far better value here than places like Cheddar.

Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Guest Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello,
Thanks for your review - very pleased we surprised you!
Yes, the gardens are indeed fantastic in Summer - hope you can make it next year!
We have been very pleased this year though to see so much colour last in the borders due to the lovely warm summer we have had. Fingers crossed for 2014.
We hope you can visit again soon from the Midlands,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Bishop's Palace and Chapel are well worth exploring. There are interesting displays, and well informed guides. The gardens are extensive, well laid out, and with good views from the ramparts.

Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Guest Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thanks you so much for your 5 star review and recommendation.

Our guides are particularly wonderful as they all volunteer their time to offer the tours and are very passionate about sharing our history and stories with all our visitors.

Hope you can visit again one day,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Wells itself is a definite 'must visit', so very pleased friends recommended it to us as a 'must see' place. After the Cathedral visit of course you want to visit the Bishop's Palace and Gardens and you will not be disappointed. Very Serene and tranquil. So glad we didn't miss it.

1  Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We're pleased you didn't miss it either!
Lots of people tell us they love coming to Wells Cathedral and then discover the Palace and 14 acres of gardens - so make sure you leave enough time for both! We recommend around 2 hours for the palace and gardens.
Hope you can visit us again - thanks for continuing the recommendation to others.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Fortunately there was a free concert on the day we went which transported us to medieval times in perfect harmony with the building. The hall itself was fascinating..the only bad point was the 'piped music' ...it would have been better in silence. The gardens were wonderful as well as the moat around the outside with swans. Lovely views of the cathedral from the gardens and the wells which the city gets its name from were interesting too.

Thank RJLH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahBPWells, Public Relations Manager at The Bishop's Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed the free show - we think you must have caught The Minstrels on the 6th October? They were a big hit with their Tudor instruments and dress and will definitely be back next year.
Best wishes,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishop's Palace and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Bishop's Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing