We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cafe and city centre gardens”

The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.47*
and up
Entry Ticket to the Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Bishops of Bath and Wells for 800 years this stunning medieval palace is open for all to enjoy. Surrounded by a breathtaking moat with resident Mute swans, you can cross the Drawbridge to experience a true hidden gem in the heart of the City of Wells. The Palace sits within 14 acres of RHS partner gardens, including the beautiful well pools from which the city takes its name. In the Arboretum is the newly developed "Dragon's Lair" children's playground to tire out little legs. There are daily Guided Tours, a Cafe serving delicious lunches, cakes and hot and cold drinks. Dogs are welcome on leads.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good cafe and city centre gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Sadly the Palace itself is sometimes shut for wedding functions and was on our visit. We had a good light lunch - fresh and imaginative roast pork sandwich - at the café. You can walk around the outside of the palace by the moat without charge. If you pay to go in, you can see the wells that gave the city its name: clear spring water from the Mendips bubbling up constantly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    610
    249
    42
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
814 reviews
359 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,103 helpful votes
“Impressive Gardens, House Not So Much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We took a bus ride from Bath to Wells to see the Cathedral and this attraction and arrived just in time to start the next guided tour. The grounds and landscaping were amazing but unfortunately the guide spent way to much time walking the group through it and taking us very slowly to see the wells. It was not helped by some of the tour group wanting to chat along the way thus falling behind the remainder of the group and delaying the tour. We decided to break away from the tour so that we would have time to see the house/palace. Unfortunately the palace only had 4 large rooms semi-furnished. Not really much to it, but it is still a working rectory and parish administration building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Spectacular gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Bishop's Palace is best known for the historic building itself. That's impressive but as a non-gardener I was particularly impressed with the gardens. They were so well maintained and a great place to wander. There's also a good café (light snacks, teas, coffees, etc) and a world-class woodpile near the entrance. I know that's an odd feature to mention but a friend commented on it as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited The Bishop's Palace and Gardens in Wells, Somerset yesterday on a warm, sunny day - just right for what is here. The city of Wells is lovely and this is in one of the loveliest areas of it. I had lived in Wells many years ago and often visited the Palace area but in those days it wasn't open to the public. I had no idea what a gem was hidden behind those walls!
First of all we went into the lovely chapel then from there into the palace itself. There is plenty to see regarding the history of the palace and its incumbents and also at present there is a display of interesting items from other churches in the area. You can join a guided tour or find your own way around. The guides and volunteers are all very friendly and knowledgable.
After seeing everything indoors we went into the beautiful gardens. We have visited many lovely gardens in this country and in Europe and these favourably compete with them. They flow naturally into quite different "rooms" and are very well maintained. They are full of beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers and also various objets d'arte.
There is a picnic area in the grounds if you want to bring your own food or you can buy from the on-site cafe which has good snacks and drinks at reasonable prices. There is indoor and outdoor seating.
All in all, this is well worth a visit. worth every penny of the admission charge.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and grounds, great exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited here about 20 years ago but the palace was not open to the public. We were happy to see the beautiful rooms and stunning chapel, with some very interesting exhibits about the church history and artifacts. The grounds are gorgeous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishop's Palace and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Bishop's Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing