We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & beautiful”

The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.41*
and up
Entry Ticket to the Bishop's Palace and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to the Bishops of Bath and Wells for 800 years this stunning medieval palace is open for all to enjoy. Surrounded by a breathtaking moat with resident Mute swans, you can cross the Drawbridge to experience a true hidden gem in the heart of the City of Wells. The Palace sits within 14 acres of RHS partner gardens, including the beautiful well pools from which the city takes its name. In the Arboretum is the newly developed "Dragon's Lair" children's playground to tire out little legs. There are daily Guided Tours, a Cafe serving delicious lunches, cakes and hot and cold drinks. Dogs are welcome on leads.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Peaceful & beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Surprised there were so few visitors - very interesting building, but the gardens are the centrepiece... if you have the time, take a book and find a seat, just enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    249
    42
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Surpise site of Wells”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The cathedral is the obvious place to visit in Wells but don't overlook the wonderful Bishop's Palace and Gardens. We took a guided tour that lasted nearly 1.5 hours which was superb. Beautiful grounds and gardens, a rich history, plus many pieces of art throughout make this site one not to miss!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KidstoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welsh Marches
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Combined our visit with the Cathedral. The Bishops Palace was a real surprise, very interesting and lovely grounds and gardens.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CroftWelshMarches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
223 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We live in Somerset but only recently spent a few days in Wells. It is a wonderful city and one of its jewels is the Bishops Palace. We took a free tour and our guide was so interesting and knowledgeable. He obviously loved his city and we can see why. I recommend a tour to understand the relationship between the Palace and the Cathedral. The gardens can be enjoyed in their own right but the `wells` that give the city its name rise there and played the most important part in the development of the settlement into a city. Do go and enjoy as part of a visit to Wells

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A purrrfect welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent several hours enjoying the the palace and it's surroundings pausing to eat a picnic in the gardens...great value especially if you pick up one of the vouchers in the promotional brochures in the hotel that gives you a small discount on the entrance price as we did. We also really enjoyed meeting Maisy, the Palace's resident tabby cat, who accompanied us on our visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ariesgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bishop's Palace and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Bishop's Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing