We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”
Review of Highfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highfield B&B
Ranked #19 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2012

If your staying in Wells then highfield is a must. We came all the way from Sunny California and this beautiful House with a fantastic garden quickly became a home away from home.. Our room even had a balcony so we could enjoy some lovely views of the town.
Large parking area, walking distance from the town, clean and comfy rooms, topped off with a fresh cooked english breakfast.. we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: If you can get one of the rooms with the balcony you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricPerkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Coming down to Wells to visit my grandparents, Highfield B&B turned out to be a great place to stay for the two nights. When we arrived Steve (one of the owners) gave us a quick tour around the house and showed us the lovely gardens. I was in a twin room, which was very spacious, well decorated and the bed was comfortable; there was a TV and radio in the room, and the en-suite had a lovely shower.

My parents were staying in the room with a balcony, which was big enough for the four of us to share a nice drink on and to enjoy the beautiful garden, whilst the bed was fitted out with much grandeur.

We had no problems at all with the rooms, and everyone had a great sleep; in connection with a previous review, I have to say that I smelt NO cigarette smoke whatsoever during my whole stay.

The B&B is ideally located. No more than a fifteen minute walk into the centre of Wells. It has a large car-park, and is on a road that makes arriving and departing from the city easy; but you cannot hear the traffic in the rooms.

The next morning we sat down around a large wooden table, in the dining room that was traditionally decorated, and enjoyed the breakfast which was already laid out ready for us. The previous day Steve had asked what time we wanted breakfast and we had arranged for it to be at nine A.M. The breakfast spread was good; cereal, a bowl of fruit, orange juice and a choice of coffee or tea.

Then Stephanie (the other owner) brought us our ‘full-English’ breakfast of sausage, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms. It was very nice. Stephanie also entertained us with her stories of life in Wells and answered all the questions we had. She couldn’t have been more welcoming and she was a great host.

I have stayed in many B&Bs around the UK and I would definitely put Highfield as one of the best. If you want an informal, welcoming and traditional stay in a B&B, then I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Nice large car park and very near the centre- easy walking distance. We stayed in the twin bedroom, which was nice but could do with some updating. Steph was lovely and very relaxed. Breakfast was nice, but would like a choice of cereal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recently stayed at this B&B to attend a family wedding. The first thing that hit us when we entered the B&B was the smell of cigarettes, not just in the hallway, but on the bedding, in the room etc. We were not the only ones in our party to comment on this.

The room was OK, we were in one of the rooms with the Balcony, decor was quite stylish, but the bed was incredibly lumpy, the pillows stank of smoke and neither my husband or I got much sleep. Another member of our party said that all of their towels had stunk of smoke, and that their bed had some sticking out springs.

However, Steph was superb, at breakfast nothing was too much trouble at all. I did however find it quite odd that all 7 places had big bowls of cornflakes laid out, it would have been much better to have given people the choice as to whether they wanted them or not, as only 2 people actually ate them. There was a nice touch of fresh melon, strawberry and pineapple being served.

There is a large car park at the front of the property, so ideal if you want to leave your car and walk into Wells.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouG734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We recently stayed for 6 nights at this excellent B&B. This beautiful house is well maintained, lovely and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the Rose room which had a balcony and overlooked a beautiful, well maintained garden. There is plenty of room in the car park so no need to worry about getting back early enough to get a parking space. We were made to feel very welcome by Stephanie and Steve and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel like friends not guests. The breakfasts were excellent and there was more than enough to set us up for the day ahead. It was a 5 minute walk into Wells so no need to take the car into the centre of an evening. We would highly recommend this B&B and would definitely stay here again next time we visit Somerset.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We recently stayed at this very welcoming B&B as part of our annual cycling weekend. Storing our bicycles was no problem and one or our rooms had a lovely balcony where we sipped gin and tonics after a hard day in the saddle! Stephanie even brought us ice! Our bedrooms were really homely and comfortable and our breakfast was a truly 'full English' experience - freshly cooked and delicious. Our walk into Wells for dinner was very easy. We had a lovely time and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is an excellent Bed & Breakfast; very good location - close to the Wells Cathedral and town centre (you can walk); excellent food (breakfast) and very friendly hosts. The rooms are very cosy and clean. The price is moderate. Parking in front of the house. I really recommend this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_CH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1.5 mi away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Dulcote
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Crossways
The Crossways
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burcott Mill Guesthouse
3.6 mi away
Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield B&B

Address: 93 Portway, Wells BA5 2BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield is a lovingly restored Edwardian house situated a short stroll from the centre of Wells the smallest city in England. Come and discover for yourself why visitors frequently return to Highfield, book early and reserve one of the rooms with a balcony where you can sit and relax overlooking the splendid garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highfield B&B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing