We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highfield B&B
Ranked #19 of 40 Wells B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great friendly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our second stay and another warm and friendly welcome! Great breakfast lovely people and good rooms. Lots of local knowledge and advice couldn't ask for an easier going atmosphere. Within easy reach of attractions without being too close to the centre of Wells an easy walk though! Will be back again no doubt!! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in july on our roundtrip through South-England. Looking back this was one of the best accommodations we had. Nicely decorated room with the look over the garden. We were warmly welcomed, the breakfast was really great. It looked like a photo in a magazine with the fresh fruitsalad topped with strawberries. The city of Wells is within walking distance and for our visit to Bath Steve gave us a routeplanner and the very helpfull advise to take the park-and-ride carpark. We loved to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axel, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had a lovely stay at the highfield b&b, we stayed for 3 nights.
Steve and Stephanie we're very nice and we felt welcome.
The rooms (rose for our friends and we stayed in the yellow room) were big enough for us and the bathroom (en suite) was small but good enough for us.
Both couples loved the typical decorations of the rooms, haven't seen this anywhere before, the owners made the extra mile here.
Breakfast was good. Extra's not a problem, we got cereal but we didn't need it though.
What made our visit special is the balcony by our rooms we could use, we (2 couples) were situated next to each other so we could chat on the balcony each night, which was extra pleasant since the weather was very good.
The hallway did smell a little like sigarette smoke, but the rooms didn't.
Clean towels everyday and rooms cleaned too.
Supermarket nearby, walk tot the city centre 10 minutes.
And lots of room for our motorcycles (4) in front of the house, we were happy we could park on the b&b's own ground. (Sorry maybe not the correct term...)
We would most likely go back there if we were to go to Wells again.
Maybe we'll ask about all the decorations and history of the house!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honda550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed the night after walking from Cheddar. Really good accommodation, very friendly hosts. We spent a very comfortable few hours in our respective rooms before walking into the City for beer and food.
Good value for money. Only ten minute walk to centre of the city. Heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

A very nice B&B. Friendly hosts, excellent breakfast and a very comfortable bed. We only stayed a night while walking The Mendip Way but would have liked to stay longer and enjoy the balcony overlooking a lovely garden. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groucho58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed at Highfield for a 3 night break over Easter. From the moment we arrived we knew we would have an enjoyable stay. We received a really friendly welcome and were shown to our lovely room, The Rose Room. It was so spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view of the garden and could also see Glastonbury Tor in the distance. The breakfasts were great - an amazing choice of food and excellent quality - everything was freshly prepared to order - well worth getting up for! The house couldn't be in a better location and even though it's on a busy road there is on-site parking and our room was very quiet. It was an easy walk into the center of Wells, it took us about 7 minutes. Stephanie and Steve have made a fab job of furnishing their house and it's a joy to stay there. We left feeling totally refreshed and relaxed. We can't wait to return to Wells and will definitely be staying at Highfield again when we do.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FulhamFan3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Lovely comfy period property. We had booked a family room but on arrival my daughter was offered a separate room at no extra cost as there was nobody else staying that night. Everything was provided and thoughtfully laid out. Breakfast was a feast - so much choice including full English and (real, not tinned!) fresh fruit salad and pastries hot from the oven. Steph made us so welcome it was a very pleasant stay. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
0.6 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.0 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#12 of 40 in Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.5 mi away
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield B&B

Property: Highfield B&B
Address: 93 Portway, Wells BA5 2BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Hotel Class:4 star — Highfield B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield is a lovingly restored Edwardian house situated a short stroll from the centre of Wells the smallest city in England. Come and discover for yourself why visitors frequently return to Highfield, book early and reserve one of the rooms with a balcony where you can sit and relax overlooking the splendid garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highfield B&B Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing