We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't do better than this at Wells”

Islington Farm Bed & Breakast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Islington Farm Bed & Breakast
Ranked #22 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Mt Somers, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can't do better than this at Wells”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Cynthia runs an outstanding B&B within 5 minutes walk to the cathedral. Everything was excellent - food, room, off-street secure parking, rural location and so close to this delightful small city. And I loved the black pudding at breakfast. You cant do better than this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spent four nights in the self catering bungalow in the grounds of Islington House which is well equipped, comfortable and spotless. The situation couldn't be better, peaceful and quiet but only a few minutes walk and you are in the centre of Wells. The Wednesday market was vibrant and busy. We will definitely be returning, there is so much to see and do and Cynthia is a very welcoming and helpful lady. We also got pictures of the Kingfisher that visits the river flowing
through the grounds !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBORAH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were singing services at the Cathedral and enjoyed four nights here. Islington House is next to the Bishop's Palace and an easy walk away away from the Cathedral. Once we had parked here we walked everywhere. Our en-suite room was pleasant with comfortable beds and a TV although we were too busy to watch! Breakfast was splendid with locally sourced food.. If you wish to explore Wells and its environs this is good place to stay and you can enjoy the alpacas which graze here. There is also a self-catering cottage which sleeps four. Mrs Cynthia Glass is a mine of information too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janmezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We treated ourselves to a 2 night break at Islington Farm in August 2010 and paid £65 per room per night for B&B.

We couldn’t have felt more welcomed by Cynthia who also proved to be a mine of local information, particularly with her recommendations as to where to eat in the evening – both the suggestions she gave us for dinner were excellent.

Islington Farm is located very close to the city centre but despite it being only a two minute walk to the Bishops Palace and a further minute to the cathedral and city centre the location felt both rural and tranquil as Islington Farm is at the end of a very quiet no through road and off the well beaten tourist track. Enter through the big white gates and it’s like you’ve walked through into a different world; a stream which we believe flows from the Bishops Palace, the source of the original Wells upon which the city is named, flows through the grounds and you’ve also got uninterrupted views of the nearby hills - perfect. Cynthia’s three Alpacas were a source of fascination and interest for us, not having seen Alpacas before.

The original farmhouse now doubles as the family home as well as a B&B but there is also a 2 bedroom self catering cottage (called Wrinkle Mead) converted from some stables. We had booked a double room for B&B but upon arrival we were put in Wrinkle Mead - we can’t therefore comment on the B&B accommodation. However we can comment on the breakfast which was superb in both the tasty ingredients, particularly the local sausages, and the very generous quantity – it kept us going for the whole day.

If we had wanted self-catering then Wrinkle Mead would have been perfect. The large lounge-diner had patio doors that looked onto the Alpaca field and the hills beyond. It was very comfortably furnished with a digital TV, DVD player, for us the only extra thing we would have liked would have been Wi-Fi. The kitchen appeared to contain all the pans, crockery, cutlery etc that you’d want if you were self-catering. A twin and a double bedroom made up the sleeping accommodation. The double bed was extremely comfortable and ensured a good nights sleep. Finally a shower room with a very powerful shower and fabulously fluffy towels.

We certainly intend to return to Wells and without hesitation we’d phone Islington Farm to see if they have space for us as we found it pretty near perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank penderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.0 mi away
Glengarth House
Glengarth House
#18 of 37 in Wells
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Worth House
Worth House
#10 of 37 in Wells
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crapnell Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Farm Bed & Breakast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Farm Bed & Breakast

Property: Islington Farm Bed & Breakast
Address: Wells BA5 1US, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Islington Farm Bed & Breakast Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing