We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,036)
Filter reviews
1,036 results
Traveller rating
547
308
120
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
308
120
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housecathedral suitecar parkresident catwells cathedralthe main hotelold coaching innno liftlovely hotelfour posterlounge arealambwedding receptionwalled gardenhigh streetbeautiful roomsmall city
Filter
Updating list...
731 - 736 of 1,036 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good points : Warm,friendly welcome by efficient receptionists .
Great location opposite Wells Cathedral and short walk to shops, pubs and restaurants.
Free parking.
Decent breakfast served by very busy but pleasant and helpful staff.
Bad points: Drab,shabby room which is in need of total refurbishment .
The four poster bed frame had a crack in it. All the decor looks tired and worn.
The wardrobe is tiny and that is where the tea making facilities are kept.
The bathroom is very small and there is mould along the edges of the shower partitions and paintwork is dingy. The cold water tap makes a dreadful noise when turned on.
The hotel information leaflet shows pictures of some rooms which have had a make-over which only makes one feel more short changed to have spent £134 for bed and breakfast in Room 36.
Hotel was fully booked so there was no point in asking to change rooms.

Room Tip: Book one of the refurbished rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for one night only on way to Cornwall,but arrived ahead of schedule.Notwithstanding the reception team made us very much at home and their attitude epitomised the whole staff team.Our food was great,both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening.Perhaps the only adverse comment would be that the bedrooms appear a little tired though our beds were super comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel has expanded over the years and rooms overlook a variety of urban scenes;but do not be afraid to ask the staff on booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was a very wet day when we arrived in Wells so we decided to have a light lunch at The Swan. The receptionist was very welcoming and we were seated in one of the small lounges overlooking Wells Cathedral. The food was very good and all the waiting staff were pleasant and attentive.

We will certainly dine there again when we are next in Wells

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at The Swan Hotel in Wells on three separate occasions while visiting England with our children. The first time we had no idea what to expect, and we were so impressed with the concern, care and kindness shown by Mark, the manager, and his staff. Each time we have visited, we have experienced the same high standards, not only with the care and attention shown to us personally, but with the cleanliness of our rooms, the wonderful meals in the dining room, and any other needs we might have. Not only is the hotel a warm, inviting place to stay, but the surrounding area is full of interesting places to visit, as well as an excellent place to go for long, relaxing walks. The Cathedral right across the green is a fantastic place to spend a long afternoon, or even two or three.

Room Tip: We had a family room on one visit, which made traveling with children so much easier. We opted not to have that on other visits and booked two rooms instead. There is a wide range of rooms available, so be sure to email in advance and check which style and location might best suit your needs, Their rooms are not all the same.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPattiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our daughter and new son-in-law held their wedding ceremony and reception at the Swan Hotel. It was absolutely perfect from the time we entered the hotel on Friday until we left on Sunday lunchtime. We were made to feel very special. Mark and the team are the most amazing, gracious, hard working and the most professional hosts one could wish for. Everything was done to perfection, all went according to plan and timing and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Mark and your team for the most wonderful weekend and for making our daughter and son-in-law feel so very special. - Mike and Bren Watts

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews