We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping not their strong suit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Rufford England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Housekeeping not their strong suit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights, as part of a family get together.
Initial impressions were not good,with a rather surly receptionist(not typical of the other receptionists in the hotel).There are no lifts,and no offer of assistance with our bags up two steep flights of stairs.
Our initial unfavourable impression was reinforced by the discovery of a dirty pair of knickers,presumably left by a previous guest,hanging in the bathroom!These were ultimately removed,without any real apology,with the offer of a free cup of coffee as compensation!We did find this fairly typical of the standard of housekeeping,as the room was very poorly tidied during our stay.We had paid for a superior room,facing the Cathedral,and the room itself was perfectly adequate.The bathroom was however cramped,with an inadequate shower.
We made the mistake of dining in the hotel restaurant on our first night.The food was poor,particularly at the price,with unprofessional,if enthusiastic,service.Breakfasts were however good.
All in all,definitely not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    273
    105
    32
    22
See reviews for
112
484
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over a mixed weather weekend, the staff were efficient and courteous and the bar and lounge areas looked very inviting and really nicely decorated and warm. We stayed in one of the mews houses and we were very pleasantly surprised, great for what we wanted, ample room, clean and well maintained & appointed. Centrally located overlooking Wells Cathedral, I would certainly recommend The Swan. We didn't stay in the hotel as I say but I can't imagine they can be that different to the standard of the mews. Will be visiting again.

PS, couldn't find them on here but the Liberty Cafe & Bar next to the hotel was excellent. Great Cream Teas, cakes and hot chocolate for the kids and super clean and great service at reasonable prices, a must try.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tregony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Good points : Warm,friendly welcome by efficient receptionists .
Great location opposite Wells Cathedral and short walk to shops, pubs and restaurants.
Free parking.
Decent breakfast served by very busy but pleasant and helpful staff.
Bad points: Drab,shabby room which is in need of total refurbishment .
The four poster bed frame had a crack in it. All the decor looks tired and worn.
The wardrobe is tiny and that is where the tea making facilities are kept.
The bathroom is very small and there is mould along the edges of the shower partitions and paintwork is dingy. The cold water tap makes a dreadful noise when turned on.
The hotel information leaflet shows pictures of some rooms which have had a make-over which only makes one feel more short changed to have spent £134 for bed and breakfast in Room 36.
Hotel was fully booked so there was no point in asking to change rooms.

Room Tip: Book one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for one night only on way to Cornwall,but arrived ahead of schedule.Notwithstanding the reception team made us very much at home and their attitude epitomised the whole staff team.Our food was great,both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening.Perhaps the only adverse comment would be that the bedrooms appear a little tired though our beds were super comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel has expanded over the years and rooms overlook a variety of urban scenes;but do not be afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It was a very wet day when we arrived in Wells so we decided to have a light lunch at The Swan. The receptionist was very welcoming and we were seated in one of the small lounges overlooking Wells Cathedral. The food was very good and all the waiting staff were pleasant and attentive.

We will certainly dine there again when we are next in Wells

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have stayed at The Swan Hotel in Wells on three separate occasions while visiting England with our children. The first time we had no idea what to expect, and we were so impressed with the concern, care and kindness shown by Mark, the manager, and his staff. Each time we have visited, we have experienced the same high standards, not only with the care and attention shown to us personally, but with the cleanliness of our rooms, the wonderful meals in the dining room, and any other needs we might have. Not only is the hotel a warm, inviting place to stay, but the surrounding area is full of interesting places to visit, as well as an excellent place to go for long, relaxing walks. The Cathedral right across the green is a fantastic place to spend a long afternoon, or even two or three.

Room Tip: We had a family room on one visit, which made traveling with children so much easier. We opted not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPattiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our daughter and new son-in-law held their wedding ceremony and reception at the Swan Hotel. It was absolutely perfect from the time we entered the hotel on Friday until we left on Sunday lunchtime. We were made to feel very special. Mark and the team are the most amazing, gracious, hard working and the most professional hosts one could wish for. Everything was done to perfection, all went according to plan and timing and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Mark and your team for the most wonderful weekend and for making our daughter and son-in-law feel so very special. - Mike and Bren Watts

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.0 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 40 in Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Address: 11 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly located, directly opposite Wells Cathedral, the hotel is steeped in 600 years of history. The hotel has a unique charm offering guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 48 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. All bedrooms are individually designed and many feature period antique furniture while others have original four poster beds.The luxurious Cathedral Suite has panoramic views of Wells Cathedral from its lounge, bedroom and bathroom (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. The menu combines modern and traditional British cooking. Diners can eat in our restaurant, 15c A.D., our bar and lounge areas. During the summer months al fresco dining is available in the Walled Garden Café and on Swan Terrace. Wells and the surrounding area is packed with plenty to see and do. Wells award-winning market takes place on Wednesdays and Saturdays. On the doorstep is The Mendips, an ancient range of hills designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and recognised as one of England's most attractive landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing