We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$160
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Wells (Somerset)(Wells)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wookey Hole Hotel(Wookey Hole)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Glastonbury(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$84
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Glastonbury Hotel(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Millbatch Farm(Glastonbury)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Meare Manor(Glastonbury)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,031)
Filter reviews
1,031 results
Traveller rating
542
308
120
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
308
120
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housecathedral suitecar parkresident catwells cathedralthe main hotelold coaching innno liftlovely hotelfour posterlounge arealambwedding receptionwalled gardenhigh streetbeautiful roomsmall city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
672 - 677 of 1,031 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable one-night stay - hotel was furnished and decorated very tastefully and room was clean and well equipped. Both the evening meal and breakfast were very good with a varied selection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was hassle-free.

Wells was lovely and we will definitely visit again. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again but would probably upgrade to a premium room if staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at the Swan. We were allocated an upgrade room with a six foot bed. Outlook was over the entrance to the car park, small window and close buildings made it very dark inside, bathroom small but adequate, room average size but two very comfy armchairs which makes such a difference to the comfort of a room. Because of the age of the building all rooms are different and, after reading other reviews, we did not have one of the best but, it was clean and everything provided. Staff are a great team endeavoring at all times to make their clients experience a good one. The food, which was included in our special deal, was very good and again efficient and helpful service. The situation, which is only a few minutes from everything there is to see in Wells, is perfect and, what a delight to sit in the garden terrace admiring the beautiful cathedral across the green. In short we loved it, would return tomorrow and recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have just enjoyed a pleasant few days in Wells, Somerset, staying at The Swan. The Cathedral and the old town itself are well worth a visit but don't risk spoiling your visit by staying anywhere other than The Swan. Excellant friendly and efficient staff very pleasant surroundings and good food at w ell run restaurant. This was our second visit to the hotel which if anything was better than our first. Well done The Swan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here overnight, for a last-minute break. Checking in was good, there were plenty of parking spaces and our room was lovely. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was fab. The staff were very attentive; service was good.
We had one little niggle.....as is often the case on a Sunday morning, everyone seemed to arrive at once for breakfast. We were asked to wait in the lounge until a table became available. This didn't take long, and we were seated at a nice table - but! The table cloth was dirty from the previous guests - crumbs, a jam smear and another stain. Whilst this may appear to be a petty gripe, you really don't want to see what the last guests had for breakfast via the stains on the tablecloth.
Aside from this, breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Touquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel has been much improved since our last visit. The receptionist was extremely efficient, and on agreeing to have Best Western membership, we were upgraded and given what must have been the best room in the hotel (Room 41 with a wonderful view of the Cathedral). The décor was modern, the room spotlessly clean and spacious enough. A minor gripe was that despite having the windows open, the room at night was a little on the warm side, and there is no aircon - this might be a problem for visitors from the USA. However, despite having the road below us (a one way street) and the window open, the room was beautifully quiet and the bed very comfortable. Otherwise, everything was just perfect, and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a wonderful view of the cathedral.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews