We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Swan Song" in Wells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The "swan song" to our four months in England was a 2-night trip to the beautiful small city of Wells. With some tips from Trip Advisor, we booked a room at The Swan. Now a Best Western Plus" hotel, The Swan traces it's history to the 1400s! The location can't be beat -- the hotel faces famous Wells Cathedral and is only a block from the marketplace that leads to the Bishop's Palace. The staff was very cordial -- they even offered a complimentary upgrade when they learned we were celebrating an anniversary. The room was spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel both days and were very pleased with the food and the service and the ambiance. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The four-poster beds are a romantic aspect of some rooms. It's also worth paying a little extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWBRHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location for walking in the city, Saturday market, cathedral and Bishop's palace. Good warm friendly staff, comfortable lounge and separate bar. spacious bedroom. Lovely experience overall with super views of the Cathedral.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for a single night in April. We had booked a standard double room through the hotel and on arrival found that we had been upgraded to a four poster room with a view of the cathedral.

The hotel is lovely and in a great location right in the centre of Wells. It is directly opposite the cathedral and a short walk from the Market Square.

The room we ended up in was really nice with a spacious dressing area and comfortable four poster bed. The breakfast was also very good.

Overall a very pleasant stay and a hotel we will return to. A quick tip: if you have a choice of car then take a small one for the tight car park!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in April with my husband .Arrived on Friday evening and had a lovely welcome. Room was a standard but more than adequate ,lovely comfy bed and plenty of room .Good bathroom with plenty of hot water .Ate in the restaurant for 2 evenings and food was excellent Very good value on a DBB rare Opted to eat out on one night just for a change .Wells is a beautiful city and a walk around the town and cathedral is a must .Left feeling rested and relaxed .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BessieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is situated in the centre of the historic city of Wells. From arrival till departure the staff were welcoming and always willing to provide a high level of service. Rooms were comfortable and afforded a restful nights sleep. The bar and lounge areas were comfortable. We enjoyed the restaurant food and service.

The location provides carless access to the cathedral, the bishop's palace and gardens - all of which are worth a visit. If avoiding the car is your thing then there is a good bus service to various places with a stop just outside the hotel and the bus terminus for all buses in and out of Wells about half a mile away.

Overall and excellent hotel that will merit a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable one-night stay - hotel was furnished and decorated very tastefully and room was clean and well equipped. Both the evening meal and breakfast were very good with a varied selection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was hassle-free.

Wells was lovely and we will definitely visit again. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again but would probably upgrade to a premium room if staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at the Swan. We were allocated an upgrade room with a six foot bed. Outlook was over the entrance to the car park, small window and close buildings made it very dark inside, bathroom small but adequate, room average size but two very comfy armchairs which makes such a difference to the comfort of a room. Because of the age of the building all rooms are different and, after reading other reviews, we did not have one of the best but, it was clean and everything provided. Staff are a great team endeavoring at all times to make their clients experience a good one. The food, which was included in our special deal, was very good and again efficient and helpful service. The situation, which is only a few minutes from everything there is to see in Wells, is perfect and, what a delight to sit in the garden terrace admiring the beautiful cathedral across the green. In short we loved it, would return tomorrow and recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank french45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
0 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
7 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Swan Hotel

Address: 11 Sadler Street, Wells BA5 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wells
Price Range: £103 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite Wells Cathedral, parts of this historic building date back to at least 1422. Today, the hotel offers guests modern amenities in a beautiful and relaxed setting. There are 49 bedrooms, a luxurious suite and 5 self-contained apartments to choose from. For a real treat, stay in the award-winning Cathedral Suite (complete with free standing brass bath). Swan Mews provides a peaceful retreat, ideal for small families or individuals on business. These self-contained apartments are situated in the middle of Wells, amongst a host of shops and restaurants. During the summer, al fresco dining is available on Swan Terrace (with a magnificent view of the West Front of Wells Cathedral) or in our peaceful Walled Garden Cafe. The hotel's award-winning kitchen (2 AA Rosettes) uses only the finest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced wherever possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wells
Wells Best Western
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel Wells, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing