We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
586
325
125
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
325
125
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house cathedral suite car park resident cat wells cathedral the main hotel lovely hotel old coaching inn no lift lounge area four poster walled garden lamb high street beautiful room very pleasant stay stayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

just spent three days at the swan hotel in wells Somerset. very pleased with the hotel. the view across from the hotel is wonderful ,a clear view of wells Cathedral. the rooms are very clean. and the service is top class. I made a new friend in Snowy the house cat. very friendly. I absolutely recommend this hotel. the staff are wonderful and very professional . top class. Thank you.

Room Tip: rooms on the front of the hotel overlook the wells Cathedral.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived for the one night, but of a nightmare to park especially when there is a car coming through as there is only the one long entrance. We had a lovely greeting and met the beautiful house cat. We stayed at the hotel as me and my partner are big fans of “hot fuzz”
The room was beautiful and such a comfortable bed! Lovely big bathroom with bath and shower. We didn’t have an evening meal here but we did have breakfast which was very nice, the cooked breakfast didn’t have a lot on there but what we had was nice and we did ask for extra toast. They also had croissants, pastries, meats and cheeses (but no rolls, which would have been nice) yoghurts, fruits and cereals so a lot of choice. Beautiful location and right in the middle of the market and would happily stay again, thank you

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Kellyrogers1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Quite simply my bench mark hotel, fantastic location over looking Wells Cathedral an easy walk to the city centre.
After using the hotel as a long term business base everyone from Mark and Seb to Emma,Jules, Holly, and Dexter the reception staff, Max with his team in the restaurant including Franko and Joel, and not forgetting the housekeepers too, each and everyone of them will go that extra yard to make sure your stay has everything you look for, and goes without saying that I thoroughly recommend The Swan, truely brilliant

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank colbowaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Stayed as part of larger group for annual get together. Overall wonderful weekend, hotel location excellent with added bonus of parking. Excellent room and facilities and a very enjoyable stay. Central location ideal for visiting local attractions, shops, restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan_and_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Henry VII was one of the hotel’s distinguished past customers, and he made the right choice. We paid two visits for lunches. On the first occasion it was a warm sunny day, and we were able to sit in the outdoor area across the road, right in front of the Cathedral. The waiters don’t mind having to cross in front of the traffic! On our second visit the weather was wet, so we sat indoors in a very comfortable dining area. Service was quick, but not rushed, and prices were remarkably reasonable, considering that it is an upmarket hotel. We were attending events at the Cathedral, so this was an ideal place for dining.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Pelagius_Redivivus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews