We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in the heart of Wells”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Green House

Front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house
Dining room with view to garden Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Front of the house
Dining room with view to garden
Kitchen
Kitchen with view to dining room
Extremely spacious living room with wooden floors and wood burner
Living room, with view through to kitchen and dining room
Double bedroom
Main, double bedroom with kingsize bed
Main, double bedroom with kingsize bed
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
View from garden to cottage
Beggar's Porch, Wells
High Street-Wells
Bishop's Palace, Wells
Wells, Cathedral
Vicar's Close-Wells
Market Square-Wells
Market Square-Wells
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Realalebu...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the heart of Wells”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely clean cottage with everything you need. Bed very comfortable. Situated within 3 minute walk from market square. Parking restrictions in the street (9am to 5pm) did not pose a problem as there is a Morrisons supermarket (cut through walking about 3 mins) where you can leave the car for two hours so we just moved it there until we were ready to go out in the morning or until 5pm. Would recommend anyone to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the City centre
Liked least: nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
housmum
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The right choice”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This charming house is perfect for sightseeing in Wells. Glastonbury and Bath. The surrounding area is rich in history and folklore and winding roads take you through a magnificent countryside. We found everything ready for our stay upon arrival. Clean kitchen and bath, freshly made comfortable beds and everything we needed for our stay. The owners are wonderful at responding if there is a question about something and they will not let you down. Being a family that loves to cook we were delighted with the kitchen amenities. We ate several times at local restaurants and found them to offer high quality meals. The Good Earth around the corner is great for those of us who are vegetarians. The owners' personal attention to everything at The Green House makes this a great holiday home away from home. We would book again without hesitation and hope to do so next spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the garden and the bright airy diniing room which overlooks it.
Liked least: There is nothing in this category that I can think of.l
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwaller3
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Green House was such a lovely place to stay in Wells.The Green House provides easy access to all of Wells. I stayed with one friend but the house could accommodate four people. It is well equipped with plenty of cooking utensils, cutlery, crockery etc. The beds were comfortable with a variety of pillows. The free WIFI has a strong signal. There is a delightful narrow back garden which had a number of wind-fall apples in it that were very acceptable when stewed. The owner had posted the key to me with directions on how to find the house, so access at the start of the stay had no problems. Sending the key to me was no mean feat as I live in Australia and was leaving home a number of weeks before my stay in Wells. But there was no problems as the key arrived days before I left Australia. The other lovely touch was the bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. Thank you Kim for making the Green House so hospitable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The birds flitting through the bushes and trees in the garden
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueHellie...
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Green House”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Just had a fantastic week in Wells staying at The Green House. Lovely comfortable cottage, everything we needed and stunning location. Town, Cathedral, Bishops Palace all on our doorstep. Stacks of History in Wells with Vicors Close, my favourite street!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelholm, Sweden
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely kitchen and comfy beds
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mandmto
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable place and good location”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Green House was very comfortable and had all the necessary conveniences we were looking for. The location was terrific both for walking into Wells and accessing the countryside by car. We were able to find parking despite the restrictions on the street where the house is located. We enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: TV didn't work consistently
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereign...
Southampton UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I cannot speak too highly of this cottage. It was spotlessly clean, all the kitchen equipment of the highest standard. Delightful garden, close to the centre of Wells, comfy beds. Kim is very helpful during the booking period and after. We will definitely be coming back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing