We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent evening meal”

The Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are locally family run restaurant with local frendly staff. We have been hear for 9 years, 8 years as café piano, but we have no longer have a piano so we just changed the name to The courtyard restaurant. We just want you to have a great time with afordable food
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening meal”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Superb meal. Staff were lovely and friendly. Will visit again if we return to Wells. Well worth a visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DawnAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    71
    18
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We visit this restaurant regularly, so much so we know the menu off the top of our heads and have the same thing on most occasions.
Well cooked meals, served by friendly staff in nice location.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't go for a peaceful Sunday lunch!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were advised to try the Sunday lunch where we were assured there was a very good pianist!
When ordering the beef, I asked for it as rare as possible and received a blank stare which should have been a warning. The music was loud and a very good demonstration of how to ruin some wonderful show tunes. The lunch was average at best and it was impossible to hold a conversation. I have been told the atmosphere is better at night but am not about to test this out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue2652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great to find you again”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I last visited the Cafe Piano in 2008. We then had both a lunch and a dinner with entertainment and each time enjoyed everything about the visit. We then moved away but on a trip back down here we have been able to once again try this lovely hidden restaurant.

Although there has been a change of ownership we immediately recognised the waiter from all those years ago and what great service was provided. We were a little concerned with such a large menu but any fears were allayed when our food came out. The cooking was perfect on both the courses we had. Should we be in Wells again we will always try to eat at the Cafe Piano so as to enjoy good food and service with great value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomthepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch convenient location”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Nice little cafe located in a hidden courtyard around the corner from the cathedral ( which is so worth visiting even if you're not religious) booking was easy and they were happy about our uncertain arrival time. Service was helpful and friendly. We both enjoyed small veggie tart with salad to start although use of tomato in winter and slight lack of salad dressing reduced their score for me. My friend had fish cakes and chips for main, simple and light but not special while I enjoyed the lasagne at the recommendation of our waitress - it was served lovely and hot with garlic bread but i couldn't finish it as it was a bit on the salty side and I did end up drinking 2 glasses of water and leaving some in the end.

Helpful?
Thank beermill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing