We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtyard Restaurant

The Courtyard Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 92 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Berkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

It started off unpromisingly. The last table, rather too near loud piped music and with staff who were too frantically busy to serve us. But a very cheerful member of the team soon cheered us up, and we were served the most delicious food. Definitely worth a visit, if you can find it tucked down a side street near the Swan Hotel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amberlight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    70
    17
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yummy food in pleasant surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well done to the staff of Cafe Piano! Yes very yummy food, attentive staff but not 'over the top'
and a very pleasant place to eat in Wells. Our one night away in Wells so we had to get the restaurant right and we did! The menu was quite extensive and then the bargain, on a Wednesday, Thursday and Friday night there's a complimentary starter or sweet before 8.30pm, also lunchtime.
I'm not too positive if this is every week though so perhaps check with the website or give them a call. We saw it advertised on the board outside.
There was very pleasant music playing, not too loud, just right so that you could comfortably
conduct a conversation. Hopefully we'll visit Wells again and of course eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 49Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent all round Restaurant Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just come back from a few days in Wells and our favourite meal was at Café Piano. The meal was of a high standard, well presented and such good value for money. The staff were cheerful and engaging. The location is a little out of the way but well worth finding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

What a find. Great food, lovely peaceful location, brilliant staff and a great offer on our lunchtime visit - a free starter or pudding with every main course ordered. Can't be bad! Do try it - you will be glad you did.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardseago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We came across this great restaurant by chance as it is in a small courtyard. Had a very tasty meal from a interesting varied menu. The background music was pleasant and unobtrusive so you could actually have a quiet conversation! Look out for the great offers we had a choice of either a free stater or dessert. Shame we don't live near as we'd like to try other things from the menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard Restaurant also viewed

 
Wells, Somerset
 

Been to The Courtyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing