We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!”
Review of The Crown at Wells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown at Wells
Ranked #6 of 24 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot on the night of May 13th 2012, just for one night. The location of the hotel could not be any more central, right in the Market Place and close to the Cathederal and Bishop's Palace. Have to say that the double room (room 6) was a little small although the bathroom was pretty good for size. Only other negative point about the room was that it was uncomfortably hot and there is no air-con.

Plus points for this hotel are the restaurant and the staff, both restaurant and hotel. Anton's Bistrot was very good! We had dinner (Sunday roast) there and the food was tasty, well cooked and enormous portions! Good value carafe of Pinot Grigio went down well too! As for the breakfast...you need to have a good appitite! The full english was huge! Perfectly cooked and well presented. Their local susage is superb!

Every member of staff we came in contact with was polite, cheerfull and friendly.

Although the hotel has a car park, iy is remarkably small and difficult to get in and out of. Not reccomemded if you have a large car or MPV.

Room Tip: Room six was very hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorfWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking time to write a great review.
With regards to the parking, we are a coaching inn and the car park was not designed as such but we have competent staff who are happy to help guests with any tricky manoeuvres.
We do hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We chose this place because it takes dogs in some rooms and has parking - if you leave the dog in the car while you're eating you don't want to park miles away. But I really liked this place - you have the history but combined with smart, attractive decor and all the staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful and efficent.
We had a double room but the bed was a king-size, very comfortable and seemed to have a new mattress & bedding. It overlooked the front, apparently William Penn preached to a crowd of 2,000 in the square from one of these rooms, before he went off to found Pennsylvania!
We had no problem with noise - all was silent and still outside at night. Shower was a bit tricky but nice & hot once we'd sussed it. Tea & coffee provided, hairdryer, water, tissues, choice of duvets. Someone has thought about this & got it right. Room was well-heated but window opened so not a problem.
The big surprise was the food. Was expecting Anton's bisrot to be a bit snooty but not so - it's named after someone from a previous era, nicely olde-worlde but smartened up, and the food was superb. The well-priced 'special' - the slow-cooked pork belly - was delicious. Had a very enjoyable meal & it was great to have a glass or two & then stagger upstairs - I'm glad we didn't go elsewhere to eat. We met some other guests later & they also raved - they'd had superb steaks that were excellent value. Breakfast was a nice selection of fruit & cereals, plus a choice of freshly cooked full English, again excellent - beautiful eggs. Not your usual pub breakfast, that's for sure. All in all, for the price, this was excellent value, enjoyable and couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

What a super and very detailed review, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in Wells to visit some friends. I made the mistake of assuming that with the proximity of Babington House, that there would be some boutique hotels here. The places to stay are much more traditional than this - the sort of B&B that seems not to have changed in 30 years.

If that is what you are expecting, then you won't be disappointed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom more than suitable. The breakfast tasted good and there was plenty of variety on the menu.

The whole place is probably due a makeover and it made me feel that I spent a little more than I would have preferred to. I would have been happy to spend GBP 80 but GBP 115 seemed very steep, seeing that I stayed in central Paris just this week for about GBP 85.

Room Tip: We quite liked room three - spacious and at the front of the building. Not much sound protection in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bermondsey_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your stay.

You're right, we are not Babington House nor a boutique hotel and have no illusions there either. We are a 15th century coaching inn. We pride ourselves on friendly service, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable surroundings, with great food.

Not sure how one could compare our room rate with those of Paris. Our rates are very competitive, particularly considering our central location, breakfast included in the rate, as well as free parking and free Wifi. The room you stayed in was a four poster, our double/twin rooms are £95.00 per night.

As a 15th century inn, we do not consider a makeover appropriate - it would not be in-keeping with our character - but we do maintain and decorate rooms regularly - certainly more often than every 30 years.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Crown in Wells is a fantastic 15th Century Inn that has bags of character and great location on the market square.
My wife and I stayed there on a Friday night as we had an event in Shepton Mallet to go to on the Saturday. We booked last minute so they only had a twin room remaining. We were accompanied by our dog.
Crown is right in the centre of Wells and is ideally located. It had its own small car park which for a town centre hotel is a bonus. Some cars have to park by blocking others in but the hotel holds all car keys and seem to react promptly to requests to move cars.
The Staff were outstanding and so friendly and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. We ate in Antons Bistro and the food was excellent and the atmosphere was superb.
Breakfast was also well cooked and served quickly. Staff were again prompt and polite and brought extra tea, toast etc as we requested.
It was good to be able to bring our dog, who was welcomed, and the man on reception was helpful, telling me the best place to walk her in the morning.
Room 10 was a good size and well equipped. The shower was very good and beds comfortable. Windows are old and slightly drafty but again this is expected in a hotel of such age and character. The heating means the rooms are warm despite this.
The market did start setting up around 5am;which I understand it does on Wednesday and Saturday mornings; but after an intial wake up by the noise my wife and I both went back to sleep for a couple more hours. This is a small down side of having such a central location and in fact the market looked worth a visit.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Crown as somewhere to stay and the staff were amongst the nicest and friendliest I have come across
Would definitely stay here again: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you for your lovely review - you have us to a tee. We look forward to you coming again and please do use the earplugs we supply so you aren't woken unnecessarily by the market next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at The Crown 33 years ago for our honeymoon, we re-visited for coffee a couple of years back and then this year decided to stay just after Easter. We wanted to escape work, not think, just relax and enjoy being together ... and that's exactly what we did.
The atmosphere, the comfort and most importantly, the staff are great. We loved the food and totally recommend eating in, the menus in both the bar and the restaurant are truly wonderful and the quality encourages far too much eating - don't bother if you're on a diet!!
The front rooms are great as others have said, so do believe all the good stuff that's been written.
Enjoy your stay, we loved ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter on Tuesday nights as the market sets up at 5am on Wednesday mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneS139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your delightful review. We're always pleased to hear such positive reviews and thank you for sharing it with everyone. Don't leave it so long before you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed there over the Easter weekend and really liked it. Had the top floor room overlooking the market place. The room is spacious and full character. The view from the room is that of the marin street leading up to the cathedral/bishop's palace. There is a street market there every Saturday morning. So can be a bit noisy early on the Saturday morning but it was something I was aware of prior to booking and the noise wasn't that loud to be perfectly honest. The shower is tiny but again it's been mentioned by other reviewers before. The highlight of the hotel has to be the restaurant. The breakfast is lovely and I had dinner two nights that I was there and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbb1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

What a super review, thank you. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the food in Anton's too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for one night and we were glad we did. A lovely hotel in the heart of Wells with its own parking. This hotel in an excellent place to stay if you want to visit the Cathedral or just have a walk around wells. The room we had overlooked the market square and was very comfortable. We decided to eat at the hotel and we were so glad we did. The food was exceptional and we'll definitely stop by again in the future. Breakfast was also very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Market day can be noisy early in the morning, so bare this in mind when selecting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyCamperSomerset, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a glowing review. We do provide free ear plugs to help with any potential disturbance from noise outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,094 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 24 in Wells
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Crossways
The Crossways
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown at Wells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown at Wells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing